We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Jackson, United States
1 review
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel was in a great location with a good pool. However the housekeeping during our stay was sub-par to be nice. The size of the rooms are great but the air units can't keep up. We had a large group for a tournament. Staff wasn't that friendly. The food service hours were very limited as well. I realize this is a business oriented hotel but it was summer and we were here with family. Location was very close to lots of things.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Traci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand from yuour review that you were disappointed in our service, housekeeping and food service hours. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us. It is through feedback as yours that we evaluate ourselves and identify the areas where we can improve. I thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel and I do hope that if you visit our area again, you consider staying with us.
Best regards, Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    212
    111
    52
    26
See reviews for
203
121
34
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honea Path, SC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The upgrades made when Hilton took over are excellent with beautiful rooms and a great restaurant. The staff is very professional and helpful. The hotel is in a prime location with a mall, theater and restaurants all within a very short walking distance. I am especially appreciative that pets are still allowed and that this is an American owned hotel. The indoor/outdoor pool is the only one of its kind in the area; however, I found that the water was much too cold. That is the only negative thing about the hotel. Although the cost is higher that it was when it was Garden Plaza, it is still less than some Hilton owned hotels. I also enjoyed the warm cookies given to us upon arrival and the fresh fruit and coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for writing this review and for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community! Your comments will certainly be shared with our team members and your concern regarding the pool temperature has been addressed and corrected. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when your travels bring you back to the Johnson City area. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Sincerely, Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here due to free points. Check in not efficient due to new employee and the other 2 employees did not help this person. Worst part was the lack of a/c...room never cooled down, had to borrow a fan from the front desk or would not have been able to sleep...even concierge suite had to have a fan running...at checkout, we were not asked how our stay was...have not yet received a survey...feel like we wasted our points

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tolbert89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we have shared your comments with our front desk and maintenance teams to keep in mind as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.
Thank you, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is great for a good rest. The pillows are great and the comforter is also nice and cozy. The breakfast is also fantastic. The beds are also made up well. All the staff is very friendly and helpful. A mall is also walking distance and they do take dogs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We are so glad you were able to enjoy a nice quiet rest in our comfortable beds! I have shared your kind comments regarding our restaurant, staff and location with our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely, Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Although the building overall could use a bit of a refresh, the room was sparkling clean and comfortable. The staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful. Breakfast delivered to our room was cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Marisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and wonderful comments regarding our rooms, staff and your room service breakfast. Out teams' top priority is our guests and we work hard to ensure all our guests have a great experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Johnson City area on your next visit.
Best regards, Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The staff was wonderful! There was a wedding and a class reunion event going on at the hotel the week we were staying there. The room keys only worked once then you had to get a new one. The pool was used greatly by all guests but the towels were not kept stocked. It is a nice hotel and the staff was very nice to us but I really hated having my arms full when reaching my room and having to go back to the front desk to get a new room key because my key stopped working

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Terrible experience at the Hampton in Johnson City, so I checked out upon arrival and checked in here.

The reason I did not choose this hotel initially is having to weed through all the reviews generated by the hotel, those with a history of only one review. I was concerned about the age of the hotel and all the smoked in "non-smoking rooms."

In the end the Doubletree was a much better choice for me. Although the hotel is more than a bit worn and could use some carpet cleaning in the hallways, this was a more relaxed and comfortable stay for me. I ended up staying in a room on the second floor and opting not to take the room on the executive level as that room had been recently smoked in. My room 217 had a bothersome smell that I could not put my finger on, but the room was otherwise clean.

Room was a bit small with a unique layout, but looked upscale and clean. Upscale bedding and amenities. Upscale feel to the bathroom. Wall unit ac. Large good quality Panasonic flat screen. Nice refrigerator with small freezer section. Upon request a good quality microwave was immediately delivered to my room. I was lucky not to have any issues with noise or the typical morning door slam fests you sometimes encounter. They still place newspapers at your door here.

No problems with the front desk staff, and they appeared better trained than the staff at the Hampton Inn.They dealt with my concerns professionally and I did not have any issues with them.

Ate breakfast at the buffet and it was nothing spectacular, but it was fresh and fresh cooked. The specialty of the day was hash browns with cheddar cheese sprinkled on top. Where I come from, we call theses hash browns with cheddar cheese sprinkled on top. A specialty would be something like eggs benedict. Thanks for the chuckle to get me day started. Eggs were fresh. Good quality sausage and bacon. Clean comfortable atmosphere with two large TVs that were set to a perfect volume. Nice wait staff.

The pool area was very nice with a connecting indoor outdoor pool.

The location is ideal, in walking distance to some nice chain restaurants and the mall and a very short drive to grocery stores.

I'd stay here again. I bet it is very hard to control the idiots who smoke in non-smoking rooms and this appears to be an issue in this town. Hopefully this won't be an issue for you. Other than that, as a frequent traveler, this would be my choice in town. Avoid the Hampton as it is not worth the stress and dealing with their pettiness.

For the management, some carpet cleaning is in order. Use lamps with sockets on the night stands. I would have liked to be on the executive floor, but being placed in a nonsmoking room that has been smoked in is unacceptable. If you are going to allow people to smoke in nonsmoking rooms, a deep clean is imperative. Your maids know who smokes in the rooms and just putting the next guest in the room without a deep clean only serves to upset the next guests. This is disgusting and shows a lack of respect for the majority of your guests who would never vandalize your rooms. Overall, thanks for a great stay. I was pretty stressed when I got to your hotel and your front desk helped to relax me and get me into a good room for a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Get there early in case you have to play musical rooms to find one that has not been smoked in. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stompper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
2.1 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Address: 211 Mockingbird Lane, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#6 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Johnson City is conveniently located at the "Hub" of the Tri-Cities only 12 miles from Tri-Cities Regional Airport, serving Bristol, Kingsport and Johnson City, Tennessee. The Johnson City Mall is immediately adjacent to our hotel. With easy access to I-81, I-26 and many other major highways, northeastern Tennessee and neighboring Virginia and North Carolina business centers and recreational attractions are just a short drive from our full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Johnson City
Johnson City Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing