We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
194 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We stay here every year for the story telling festival. The rooms are updated to the current Hilton standards. The bed is a ten. The staff is very friendly.

Beware, the first floor west wing is a stinking smoke hole. We made the mistake of walking to my car and gagged. They said after the first of the year they will be smoke free. The smell doesnot invade the rest of the hotel.

There is a movie plex next door across the parking lot. Lots of restaurants near by.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during the Storytelling Festival each year! We appreciate your loyalty and for your response that allows our future guests to get a better glimpse into what we offer and your impression of the property. We are pleased to know that the staff and bedding were up to par for you. You will be happy to know that we will in fact be going 100% non-smoking in early 2013, therefore that will not be a concern during your stay next fall with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again next october and wish you the safest travels until then.
Sincerely,
Steve lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    216
    113
    53
    26
See reviews for
205
122
35
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
athens tn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Usually stay at Doubletree. Mostly fine, but its time to do a little cosmetic and updating to the room I stayed in. But, it was not to the point I would not return. This was a very friendly hotel. Staff at front desk friendly and I ALWAYS notice if the cleaning staff is friendly and they were. So, that shows me they treat their staff good. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSGDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Usually stay at Hilton properties and this hotel was ok. Parking was at a premium while it was raining. Hilton honors members get free breakfast on the 5th floor. Typical fare - didn't like that the attendant left a dollar on the counter hoping for tips. Room was ok and amble place to work. TV had several channels. Shower was good pressure and hot. Bed was comfortable. Room had a refrigerator. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountJuliet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am a Hilton Honors member, and like staying at Hilton branded properties when possible. Generally I choose a Hampton Inn, just because of the free breakfast, but this time I went with the DoubleTree because of its location. While I could tell that this property was a little older, I thought that it has been well maintained for its age. The lobby and the guestroom felt very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the wireless worked very well for me (a must!). I was also surprised when I got here, that for HH members, there is a concierge lounge on the top floor that serves a complimentary breakfast for no additional cost! The exercise room was very small (a couple cardio machines and free weights), but all of the machines were working and looked new.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay here. The staff was great, the rooms were quiet and clean, and the rate was very reasonable for a full-service hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakeO229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I just completed my second stay at this hotel and will not return. Upon check-in, I was provided with a room that had a broken ironing board and inoperable air conditioning unit. The carpet had cookie crumbs on it and the carpet under the tables and bed looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in months. They replaced the ironing board promptly, but maintenance didn't show up to my room for an hour--after my second phone call to the front desk. The individual from maintenance showed-up without any tools and proceeded to press the on and off buttons, and unplug and replug the unit (same actions I took). He concluded that unit was broken. I waited an hour for that. As I suspected in the first place, I was moved to another room. In all fairness to the manager, she felt bad for my inconvenience and provided me with a coupon for the buffet and a giftcard to Starbucks. She was very nice and tried to accommodate, but the problems in this hotel are too monumental for one person to handle.

My second room wasn't a whole lot better. It was missing an ironing board , which they promptly replaced. The air conditioning unit worked, but the air from it smelled mildewy. I was hoping not to contract legionnaires disease during my 3 day stay. Just like the first room, the carpet under the tables and the bed looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in months/year. One of the "clean" glasses provided was actually quite filthy. I left a note for housekeeping, who left a note back apologizing for the dirty glass, but then decided (I guess) to not clean the rest of the room. During my 3 day stay, the sink was cleaned once, the table surfaces were not dusted. the counter above the refrigerator was unwiped, a used washcloth was simply refolded and placed on top of the commode tank, the refrigerator froze all of the food and beverages in it, I was provided with one USA Today and upon checkout, the front desk could not provide me with a receipt due to computer issues. And--my room also had one of the same bugs that a reviewer provided a picture of.

Perhaps I wasn't provided with a better room and better housekeeping because I am not a Hilton Honors member. In reading some of the other reviews, there seem to be "special" rooms for Hilton Honor members that actually get cleaned (floors 3 and higher). I was on floor 2. It's unfortunate as this hotel is centrally located to the highway, shopping and restaurants. But on my next business trip to Johnson City, I'll be willing to drive out of my way for a clean, well maintained hotel.

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Honors member, I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baag33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdlewis, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay at our hotel. We are extremely sorry that we did not meet expectations and please know that we are actively working with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to focus on cleanliness and comfort throughout our property. we will certainly address your concerns and keep them in mind as we evaluate refresh options at our property. We value all of our guests and strive to proved a clean and comfortable enfironment for everyone. Thank you again, and we hope you will consider staying with us the next time your travels bring you back to Johnson City so that we can show you the quality service and amenities you deserve.

Best regards,
Steve Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola,Fl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at the Doubletree September 3rd. Traveled all day from Pensacola,fl. Looked forward to peace and quiet and a comfortable bed, and that is exactly what i got. Yes, the place is a little dated, but it was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Ate breakfast in the restaurant and the food was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your Labor Day weekend with us, as well as the experience that you at our property. We pride ourselves on clean accommodations and a truly hospitable staff & are pleased you found both up to par. Please join us again next time you are in the area and thank you again for your review.

In Service,
Lauren Shepherd
Director of Sales
Lshepherd@cooperhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

It is a good place to stay for the price in the area, but it does not live up to the Hilton Double Tree name. Everyone was very nice and professional, and the comfy beds and clean linens are what I love.
You can tell the place is older and has not been well maintained. It was not dirty, but it just didn't feel clean. The location is a little odd as it is not close to the interstate. The restaurant is convenient, but not good unless your just wanting a beverage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmccamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to hear you do not feel that we lived up to the DoubleTree by Hilton standard during your stay. I would love to discuss the details of your stay and the issues you experienced in greater length. While I am thrilled you found our staff nice and professional & found our beds comfy, I want to assure we correct any situations where you feel we fell short. I look forward to hearing from you & being given the opportunity to correct any shortcomings that you may of experienced.

My Pleasure,
Lauren Shepherd
Director of Sales
Lshepherd@cooperhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
2.1 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Address: 211 Mockingbird Lane, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#4 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#6 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Johnson City is conveniently located at the "Hub" of the Tri-Cities only 12 miles from Tri-Cities Regional Airport, serving Bristol, Kingsport and Johnson City, Tennessee. The Johnson City Mall is immediately adjacent to our hotel. With easy access to I-81, I-26 and many other major highways, northeastern Tennessee and neighboring Virginia and North Carolina business centers and recreational attractions are just a short drive from our full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Johnson City
Johnson City Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing