We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind”

Scratch Brick Oven Foodworks
Ranked #11 of 306 Restaurants in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Jonesborough, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
178 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recommend the full trust pizza, which allows the chef to create a custom pizza for you. I have been a few times and on each visit I get a different full trust pizza. The vinyl records are an added bonus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colfal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    49
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Unique”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

There is a sign above the door that warns: It's not for everyone. It is very unique and if your are picky, you are in trouble. We found it a fun place to be, although if you need a seat in a hurry you might have a good wait. It's a great place for carryout and next time, we will try the "trust pizza"!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza, Great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I visited scratch based on reviews and wasn't disappointed. We trusted the chef to make our pizza and it was great. It had some interesting toppings but it worked. The crust was great and the meat toppings were fresh and had a ton of flavor. They have stacks of old vinyl records. We sat and ate pizza listened to little feat, johnny cash and earl scruggs. Everyone can pick out their record and get it in the rotation. Only downside was that it was somewhat slow and that's with it not being crowded at all. We made it in half way between lunch and dinner so there weren't many people there. If you love pizza and music stop by.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tidetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trust the chef to make you a PIZZA”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are adventurous with food, you must not miss this place. Highly recommended by the locals, you can either choose the ingredients you like OR TRUST the chef to make you an awesome 16" pizza. I loved mine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kd6sxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
“Good pizza but expect a long wait and poor service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Pizza is pretty good with an interesting menu of toppings. The real draw to this place is their comfortable, laid back atmosphere. They play great music and encourage customers to browse the vinyl record collection and pick something they would like to hear. The service is not great. The wait is always long and sometimes ridiculous. We recently placed an order for pick up and were told 45 min. It actually took 1:35 and they were unapologetic. If you have the time and don't care about service, this place is fine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwr0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratch Brick Oven Foodworks also viewed

 
Johnson City, TN
 

Been to Scratch Brick Oven Foodworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing