We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food pretty good, portions great, smell - not so good!”

Yamato Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #178 of 308 Restaurants in Johnson City
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food pretty good, portions great, smell - not so good!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I went with a group of 14. We were squeezed into a long table. This was NOT my first trip to Yamatos. I lived in JC for 16 years and frequented this location as soon as it came into being. This was my first trip back to Yamatos since 2004.

It wasn't quite what I remember. I ordered a triple combo. Shrimp, yaki, sesame chicken. All we wonderful, except the shrimp. These appeared to be little tiny salad shrimp. Very disappointing. HOWEVER, Flavor was exceptional as usual! I took home leftovers enough for two more meals.

I have to say the waitress was good. Prompt without being pushy. I asked for a details receipt at the counter when paying my portion of the bills. The receipt was incorrect on the amounts of each item...and took them nearly 10 minutes to write out!

Worst thing. Walking in and it smelled like bathroom. :-(

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rumney, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THIS IS NOT HIBACHI!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not sure what's wrong with Japanese food in Johnson City Tennessee but this is not Hibachi. This is not a Japanese Steakhouse. I am aware that there are quite a few restaurants in the area passing off similar food as Hibachi but it is a very, very strange local phenomenon. What I received was a large late of meat, rice, and carrots cooked on a grill in the back, sincerely disappointing since I had been craving fresh vegetables and simply prepared meats typical of real Hibachi restaurants.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sasslynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We work nearby so we ordered our food to go. I got the Sesame Chicken. It was hot and fresh and very tasty. The price was a little high,but well worth it for the portion I received. It was easily enough food for two people. I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh and huge portions”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my favorite Hibachi place in the area. Prepare to get 2-3 meals out of an order though, even at lunch! For $5.95, I promise you'll get more food than one human can eat. The spicy pepper chicken is a personal favorite. It is prepared right when you order it, so nothing has been sitting around.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GAGirl2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 1, 2006

I was excited to see what looked like a "mom and pop" Japanese place in my new neighborhood. It turns out that the menu is exactly like what you might find at a mall food court. You know you're in trouble when the only Japanese word on the menu is "teriyaki." The portions were large, and it wasn't especially bad... but I certainly wouldn't make an effort to get there. No miso, no sushi, no tonkatsu, no yakitori, no... well, no anything except a couple of different hibachi-style dishes, and you don't even get the hibachi "show" to make it acceptable.

Helpful?
2 Thank scyscyscy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 
Johnson City, TN
 

Been to Yamato Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing