We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Amigos!”
Review of El Charolais

El Charolais
Ranked #23 of 306 Restaurants in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Better than Amigos!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We eat here fairly often. It's always packed but the service is always good, too. Last night my meal was just so-so but my husband's was great. I've never found there to be much alcohol in their margaritas, so I had a glass of sangria- which was tasty.
This restaurant has way better food than Amigos! The guacamole is especially delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xylophone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    31
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We go here all the time! The food is wonderful! It takes a little while to cook (longer than most places) but we are never disappointed :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank supermommyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“real Mexican... best in town”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

simple, ASADA (on the grill) tacos... nothing better. beans out of this world and their homemade GUACAMOLE.... will have you coming back for more. Family owned and operated, friendly staff, and very affordable, if you haven eaten there... you haven't eaten REAL MEXICAN FOOD.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank yaser z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT family place with great food and people.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife, son and I eat here very often. We are all big authentic Mexican Food lovers and this place is amongst the best you'll find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Original Mexican taste.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Original taste, real Mexican flavors and unmistakably the best Latino restaurant in Johnson City. Want Mexican food? Go nowhere else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank yaser z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charolais also viewed

 
Johnson City, TN
 

Been to El Charolais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing