We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Mexican taste.”
Review of El Charolais

El Charolais
Ranked #20 of 306 Restaurants in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Original Mexican taste.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Original taste, real Mexican flavors and unmistakably the best Latino restaurant in Johnson City. Want Mexican food? Go nowhere else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank yaser z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    31
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Margaritas!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Only stopped by for a drink. The margaritas were awesome!!! The waitress was very attentive and I know she would have been great if we had ordered food!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Not what i expected”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Visited with some friends the food was not that good and not much of it for what they charge not a place I would go back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abelard01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and quick as fast food. ”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been going here for a few years now and gotta say never actually had any complaints with the food. If you're not a big fan of the regular salsa they give you, ask for the spicy salsa that a couple of the employees know how to make. It will literally light you up. Even if you are in a time crunch, You can usually count on them to get your food out really quick too. Staff is friendly. Probably because we go there so much. Overall can't complain. My favorite part Mexican food in town.

Helpful?
Thank Patelsk1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“if you are a student, here's the best.”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Look, I'm from Texas, and I know TexMex is a million times better than actual Mexican food. That being said, I know this is authentic cause it's not as delicious. BUT it is ridiculously cheap!!! And it fills you up, you get unlimited chips and salsa, i always go home with leftovers, AND they offer discounts. Seriously, its just awesome that way.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charolais also viewed

 
Johnson City, TN
Johnson City, TN
 

Been to El Charolais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing