We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Charolais

El Charolais
Ranked #17 of 302 Restaurants in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Always the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I live 25 miles away and it is worth the drive. The food is always fresh, hot and delicious. The wait staff is hard working and dedicated, always on top of every detail. Other restaurants in the area should model themselves after this place. The best restaurant in Johnson City, maybe the best in the Tri Cities.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    30
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I still compare all to CA mexican food....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Based on the great reviews I went with a friend to El Charolais...first we noticed the exterior was lacking an inviting touch, but I'm sure they'll work on that, because the interior decor was terrific! Our margaritas were standard premix, but I could taste tequila which is a plus in my book! My friend said her Chimichanga was tasty, and my taquitas, 2 chicken 2 beef-- were good but a little over cooked. Salsa was good, and Queso was excellent. Service was great, and we will return to try other entrees. We have a number of Mexican eateries here, and several are pretty good.....this is one of them!! I want to try the tacos and other basic menu items before passing "ultimate" judgement. I wouldn't return to do that if it wasn't good food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newtraveler1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough
Level Contributor
121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“No doubt the best Mexican food in Johnson City TN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We love this place - so glad we found it when it was called El Torito but everything is the same and even better now that they have taken over the Radio Shack space next door and put in more seating and a really nice bar area. But what is the best is the food; even though they are very busy most of the time, there isn't usually a long wait and the salsa is good and the variety of choices can't be beat. The taste - excellent! We don't like to go anywhere else and by the way, they have really inexpensive daily specials too. I almost forgot to mention the big screen TV's.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoxFamily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

I still can't pronounce the name of the restaurant correctly, but it doesn't matter. I keep coming back for the food! The food is good, the salsa is my favorite in town, and the service is fast. If you want a seat at lunch on a Friday, you better be early!

Helpful?
Thank TNAnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNSmile
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic & Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is our favorite Mexican restaurant. Excellent service, excellent food, friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charolais also viewed

 
Johnson City, TN
 
 

Been to El Charolais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing