We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good Italian Food Food ar a Decent Price”

Carrabba's Italian Grill
Ranked #16 of 302 Restaurants in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Watauga
1 review
“Really Good Italian Food Food ar a Decent Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

My Wife and I eat at Carrabba's about every 2 months and if we have guests come in from out of town who have never eaten at Carrabba's or it it one of there favorite restaurant. The Carrabba's in JohnsonCity, Tennessee is one of the BEST Carrabba's we have eaten at on the was east coast of the US. At Carrabba's in Johnson City the wait staff are well versed on what is on special for that evening and they are very fast at getting to you for your drinks, and great warm bread that is dipped in Olive Oil and Herb's and then asks if you would like an appetizer. My Wife and I usually order Calamara or (fried Squid), and we like our Calamara cooked longer than usual and we like more teneckles than body. All there food is very good but we really like to get something we wouldn't usually cook at home, like Sirloin Marsala with Mushroom. Or Veal Picatta which is Veal in a lemon sauce with capers and of course most everything comes with a very good house salad and veggies or some kind of pasta. Another one of our favorite things to eat is light and inexpensive. It is Black Mussel's in a thin White Wine and Butter sauce and then we get a side of Angel Hair pat a to put in the wine sauce.
I would suggest going as early as possible for supper. Carrabba's opens at: 400pm Mon. - Fri. and 12:00pm Sat. And Sunday

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad_KWatauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    28
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN/NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“LOUDER than a disco at last call!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wouldn't go back if was free! Sat at wobbly table in cramped bar area and about left several time due to unbearable noise level. People screaming, including over-juiced wait staff. Finally seated and noise from wait staff yipping and goofing off continued throughout meal. Food was good, wine way overpriced. Waitress called wife "dear" one too many times. Not anyplace for a romantic dinner date unless you enjoy dining near the freeway during rush hour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GODEACONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Yes, it is a chain restaurant! Yes, it is absolutely wonderful. The menu changes every few months and the food is prepared fresh to order.
I just happened to overhear a conversation between one of the chefs and a critic. The discussion indicated that all the produce is fresh every other day, and all the meats are kept fresh at 38 degrees F or below, but not frozen, and used within 2 days.

We love this restaurant!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Italian Chain Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Carrabba's is the best chain Italian restaurant. Much better than Olive Garden. P

Helpful?
Thank MamaGCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Slow service and poor meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I usually opt for the Spiedino Di Mare, but today they had a special "Champaign" seafood pasta with shrimp, scallops and crabmeat that I tried. This was the worst pasta I have ever had. To top it off, our waiter was extremely slow with everything (dishes, bill, receipt).
Carrabba's was always on the top of my list, but I'm looking elsewhere now.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrabba's Italian Grill also viewed

 
Johnson City, TN
 

Been to Carrabba's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing