We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Carnegie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carnegie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

As others have said, I was so surprised to find such a beautiful hotel at such an affordable price. I've never been to the south but this reminded me of what I think of as old southern grandeur. The lobby was elegantly appointed with antiques gathered from around the world by the gentleman who resurrected "The Carnegie." The elevators have cherry flooring and brass fixtures and the hallways to the rooms are wide and bright. Every inch is absolutely spotless. My room (a king) was spacious...with oversized furnishings and a lovely desk/writing area. The bathroom was huge...tiled and with a stand alone shower and deep bathtub! Get outta here! :) and yes, Starbucks coffee in the room to top it off. First class all the way. Explore the lower level where there is a bricked-in wine vault with brass railings and gate. Finally, I cannot say enough about the front desk staff. Friendly, professional, polite, and helpful. You don't find this kind of hospitality anymore and everyone there has much to be proud of. I will stay again next time I am in the area and would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 588 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were pleasantly pleased to find such a wonderful/charming hotel for an affordable price! The lobby area was furnished with antique furniture and had a welcoming atmosphere. Staff members were very professional and helpful. Sleeping rooms and bathrooms were very spacious and clean. Enjoyed eating at Wellington's, the in-house restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2b2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is what hotels were meant to be. Open, spacious rooms with desk and sitting area. Spacious bath with stand alone shower. Starbucks coffee in the room. Everything is done right here. Highly recommended for a visit to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Enjoyed this beautiful hotel. We stayed here for the Asa Nationals. Our team really enjoyed this hotel. Great rooms and really clean. We stayed on the backside and could occasionally here the trains but not really to bad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I love hotels that arent part of a hugechain and this one was perfect! Nice view, nice area, friendly staff. Had a very late check in but the front desk was still welcoming. Thebedroom was beautiful and I LOVED the bathroom. Wish we wouldve stayed longer.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kaitie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Found myself having to go to Johnson City in late June for business and stayed here instead of at one of the large hotel chains. Whata wonderful experience it was! Check in was quick and professional, the room was large, much larger than what i typically see at a Hilton or Marriott property. The hotel offers free (self) parking, is very convenient to East Tennessee State University and not very far away one of my favorite restaurants (although i didn't go there this trip), Tupelo Honey Cafe.

I had dinner at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed a nice drink from their extensive whiskey selection afterwards. Checked out early the next morning for business meetings and checkout was every bit as smooth and efficient as check in. Next time I'm in Johnson City for business I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GolfNut1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is not just a place to stay... it is a distination. Great rooms, restaurant, staff, pool and spa. In the heart of Johnson City across from ETSU and surrounded by mountains and outdoor activities.

Room Tip: Great beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Summerfun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
467 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
166 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Johnson City
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Hotel

Address: 1216 W State of Franklin Rd, Johnson City, TN 37604-6568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range: $128 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Carnegie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing