We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love older hotels, this was a wonderful safe location!”
Review of Carnegie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carnegie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I love older hotels, this was a wonderful safe location!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The food in the restaurant was wonderful! Breakfast was delicious! The mocha was the beat I've ever tasted! The bathroom was huge with a tub, a seperate shower, and a nice vanity! The staff was nice and the room was beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarmamatammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Firstly, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that your stay was a pleasant one. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant as well as the amenities that are provided in each of our lavish rooms. If your travels ever bring you back to the area we certainly hope that you can return to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    120
    28
    12
    12
See reviews for
154
160
26
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Martin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Carnegie hotel is stunning. A beautiful old building, it has the feel of something haunted. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and honored my room requests. The rooms are large with wonderfully high ceilings. Two sinks, both inside and outside the bathroom add extra '"getting ready" room. I had business at the Millenium Center, which is connected with an enclosed walkway. It was perfect for a rainy cold day in Johnson City. A parking garage is located conveniently behind the hotel. Although I didn't see any ghosts, I enjoyed the wonderful spirit of this beautiful place.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful...you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are elated that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we appreciate your kind words regarding our property as well as our staff. It is our goal to provide the best customer service and we are happy that we could make your stay a memorable one. It is our hope that if you return to Johnson City that we will have the pleasure of serving you again!

Best Regards,

Beth Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is basically alright, but it is very lacking in the details. It was a very odd mix of both high- and low-end. Now, I will start by saying if you typically stay at standard, lower to mid-level chain hotels, you will think this place is aces. But, as they are supposedly a four-diamond level hotel, I am basing my review on that. (To be sure I was being fair, I looked at AAA’s list of 4-diamond hotels, many at which I have stayed, to make sure I wasn’t judging it too harshly.) I will also state that perhaps I would be more generous in my rating had it not been for room service. As part of my relaxing weekend getaway, I was looking forward to a nice breakfast. When I called down, they told me that a large party had just left so it would “be a few minutes” longer. So, I gave them as much time as I could – an hour, before I had to leave for an appointment. I called back down to find out if it was on its way up because I was running out of time. At that point, I was told they never entered the ticket. Human error – I get that. Happens to the best of us. It was that other than an apology – even as I went to the front desk to buy crackers for breakfast and explained what happened again, nothing was done to make up for the situation… an offer for breakfast the next day, a lunch discount… nada.

On a more positive note, upon entry, the hotel looks lovely and clean. The rooms are of a goodly size and the bathrooms are large. Although the toiletries are average, they provide a higher-end, name-brand coffee in the room. Unfortunately, the hotel is lacking in refinement – those little details that can either make you feel special or make you feel like something is off about the place if they are lacking. For instance, the furniture is pretty enough, but it is worn and scratched. The electrical cords were not behind the furniture/refrigerator, but hanging along the wall. (They didn’t even hide it in conduit or cord keepers.) While the coffee was lovely, the condiments were those same cheap packs you find in motels. The elevator is in very poor shape, with the brass being scratched and worn. The wallpaper along the third floor wall corridor has a big scratch along it. While I am speaking of wallpaper, the wallpaper in my room was loose at some of the seams. The bathroom also had some staining and what looked like efflorescence on the ceiling. And more importantly I think sandpaper might be more comfortable than what it is they use for toilet paper and tissues… definitely bottom of the barrel. They also provided plastic cups instead of real glasses. Another little detail… although they really tried to be fancy with how they hang towels in the bathroom, they might want to advise their staff that the tags aren’t supposed to be hanging down the front… kind of ruins the visual. And I know that’s really being ridiculously picky – but it goes to my larger point that really fine hotels pay attention to those details.

Again, on a more positive note, the staff was very friendly. They seem like really nice people. Housekeeping seemed to work particularly hard, and did a good job. I just don’t get the sense that they are particularly trained in how to be proactive. As I was checking out, the gentleman at the desk, instead of asking me about my stay (because I would have been honest), actually said, “Feel free to join us again.” I’m sure he didn’t mean it to come out that way, but I was thinking I have absolutely no incentive to ever go back. I would almost rather stay at a lower end hotel because at least you know not to expect too much and won’t be disappointed because it’s trying to be something it’s not. I was really looking forward to my stay, and I left disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank CobbCoGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay here at the Carnegie Hotel. I hope that you enjoyed your tour with the Appalachian Ghost Walks as it is a unique, fun, and valued attraction in our area. As East Tennessee’s Premier AAA 4 Diamond Hotel we set our service standards very high and apologize that your expectations were not met. Your concerns regarding the conditions of our property, and your room in-house hotel room have been communicated to our maintenance and housekeeping staffs. Please know that both departments are working diligently to improve our property! Our apologies in regard to your room service order, I can assure your experience is not a common occurrence. Our Food & Bev Director been alerted to your experience and we hope to prevent any issue such as this from occurring again. We appreciate your feedback, as it allows us to improve on what matters most, to our valued guests. If your travels ever bring you back to Johnson City, we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to make everything right and better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Weekend getaway for 20 yr anniversary.The Carnegie did not disappoint! Beautifully appointed rooms (bed more comfy than Westin!) And gorgeous hotel. Breakfast at the Wellington was a treat! Staff was on top of everything.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are honored that you chose our hotel to spend your anniversary and are pleased to hear that we did not disappoint. Our staff is always diligent in attending to every guest need in order to ensure a pleasant and exceptional stay. Congratulations on twenty years of marriage and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As we drove into Johnson City, we could not have imagined such a wondrous hotel was waiting for us. The staff was friendly and helpful, the lobby immaculate. The room was spacious and extremely well appointed, as was the generous-sized bathroom. We decided to spend the day in the hotel, and went to the bar for a drink. We also ate in the restaurant. Both very rewarding. At first, there weren't many people about. But soon a large crowd gathered. So I guess it's not an undiscovered gem after all. I asked if the Carnegie was a chain. They said no. I was dissappointed. I was hoping there were hotels like this all across America.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there's a dissappointing room anywhere in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim40W72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth L, Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to spend a day in our restaurant and bar, Wellingtons. If your travels ever bring you back to Johnson City, we hope to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed there recently and was very satisfied though it was for buisness I would stay there again for buisness or leisure.The staff was very friendly and the rooms were a fair size.The reastraunt was good not great though again there staff/waitress was very friendly.So if your in the area check them out.

Room Tip: They were all very spacious as well as the huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayesville, nc
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a stopover on a drive from Virginia back to North Carolina and what a pleasant surprise. You truly felt that you were taken back a hundred years in time but that everything was in pristine condition. The room was spacious and impeccably decorated in the early 1900's period; the bathroom was enormous and spotless; the hotel staff was very friendly. They had a fitness center and spa and a period dated bar and restaurant. Complimentary coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnlHayesville_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
458 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
162 reviews
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Hotel

Property: Carnegie Hotel
Address: 1216 W State of Franklin Rd, Johnson City, TN 37604-6568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carnegie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing