We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice historic hotel”
Review of Carnegie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carnegie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice historic hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed in Johnson City for one night on the front end of our vacation whitewater rafting and visiting the Smoky Mountains.

We were excited to find the Carnegie hotel as an alternative to the typical chain hotels that are so prevalent these days. After a long drive in the car, we were delighted to arrive at the Carnegie. The hotel is very welcoming and immediately walking inside we were greeted by a very friendly woman at the reception desk (which is all beautiful old woodwork). Despite it's age, the place is wonderfully kept up.

Both the bedroom and the bathroom were surprisingly large and very clean. The bed was a great wooden sleigh bed and I was quite happy with the linens (something I tend to be quite pick about). Our large bed was quite soft which bothered my boyfriend but not me.

In the morning before heading out we enjoyed a great breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. All in all a great experience and we'd definitely go back.

  • Liked — historic charm
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Louise773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    120
    29
    12
    12
See reviews for
155
162
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

While visiting our daughter at ETSU, we booked this hotel through travelocity at $99/night. We were thrilled with our stay! The rooms were very clean, neat and spacious. The ambiance was extravagant but comfortable. There were weddings and graduation parties taking place the weekend we were there, but we never heard a thing.

The lobby restrooms offered cloth towels. I loved that!


We will plan to book this hotel everytime we visit our daughter-its right outside of ETSU. Perfect location

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank char_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

5 girls stayed here for a surprise 50th b-day (4 of us flew in from Los Angeles). We had four beautiful rooms - 2 adjoining rooms on each side of the hall so we could visit each other easily-fun! The staff was the nicest group of people and got very excited about the surprise and went out of their way to make this a great experience. Everyone was quick to accommodate us for anything we needed. The rooms were beautiful, clean, comfortable, quiet and cozy. One of us used the spa services and was very happy with it. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant - all of the food was very good. Our dinner waiter (he was great) made the bananas flambe' at the table for us, what a nice show! He even suggested we do tequila shots - we opted for vodka instead. It was a great stay and we would all recommend this highly.

  • Liked — Rooms and staff.
  • Disliked — Everything was great.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keliaujam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

This will be brief, because the Carnegie is simply outstanding. I have stayed there on 3 or 4 occasions in the past couple of years, and have nothing but positive experiences to report. From the staff, to the cleanliness, to the ambiance...you name it. Other hotels could learn from the Carnegie!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank repoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

I had a delightful time at the Carnegie. The room and bathroom were both huge. Everything was clean. The furnishings in the room were nice. I agree with another reviewer about the low wattage light bulbs that are inadequate for reading, but that seems to be the situation in most hotels now. Check in and out was fine. Staff were all polite and friendly. Can't say anything else about the hotel as I was in meetings all day and actually spent very little time in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SeattleIndividual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2007

We stayed at this hotel when we moved to the area. What a terrific place to be! It has wonderful amenities, fabulous food and beautiful atmosphere! Our children were welcome and we all felt like royalty! We actually stayed a total of 2 1/2 weeks at the property since the moving company was delayed in bringing our things to us when we first moved to Johnson City. We loved it and ended up using this hotel again for different functions after we got settled into the area.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank samiamJohnsonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2006

I used Expedia to book my room, so it was charged immediately days ahead of my visit. Upon review of my credit card statement, I noticed that the hotel charged it AGAIN two days after my stay. I have no complaints about the hotel itself, nicely furnished, courteous staff, as others have stated, but double charging brings this review down to the bottom. It doesn't get much worse. I will call and i'm sure they will apologize profusely and credit my account, but since this happened earlier this year at the Anatole in Dallas, TX, i'm beginning to wonder just how many people get double charged and don't notice.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gardenstate71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
462 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
163 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
296 reviews
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Hotel

Property: Carnegie Hotel
Address: 1216 W State of Franklin Rd, Johnson City, TN 37604-6568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Carnegie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing