We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First Rate Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnegie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carnegie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
palm beach gardens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Rate Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed there a few nights ago. The entire experience was great. Ate both dinner and breakfast, terrific food and service. Entire property is spotless, room was large and well laid out. Bathroom has two sinks, tub and separate shower.
Anyone who finds fault with this hotel just can't be satisfied or is a jealous competitor.
Look forward to,returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    109
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
127
133
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights this week at the Carnegie and we were totally pleased. The room was bigger than most hotels, the bathroom was huge, the bed was very comfortable, and the room service food was delicious. The lobby decor is lovely so you get a very good impression right away. The staff was helpful and very polite. The spa services are wonderful, but if youre hoping to swim, the pool is outside and very shady which keeps the water quite cold, but that will improve later in the summer. When visiting Johnson City, I can't imagine why you would stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces nearby railroad tracks. The sound didn't bother me, but my husband d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimipam_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a very beautiful and clean hotel. However, we chose this hotel for a romantic night alone and had planned on eating dinner at the hotel restaurant and having drinks at the hotel bar. Only to find that the restaurant is not open for dinner on Sundays, the bar is not open on Sunday's and there is no room service on Sunday's. So, if you are staying on a Sunday don't plan on using these services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galfromthedale
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I spent three days in this hotel and was pleased with the room and the staff. The room was kept very clean and housekeeping was efficient and quick. The bathroom had two sinks, which is very convenient. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The television was a new flat screen with all the basic cable stations and the extended cable stations provided for free

The onsite restaurant is outstanding. I used room service and it was quick, efficient, and the food arrived at the right temperature and as ordered.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: I was in the back of the hotel. There is a train that goes by occasionally that is quite loud, I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galfromthedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I give this 5 stars because of the price and service, as well as the size of the rooms. If you are going to stay in Johnson City, this really is your only option. Bathrooms are HUGE service is fantastic and it is great value. It is not 5 star luxury compared to big cities, but can compete with a solid star in any metropolitan area. Restaurant in the hotel was really good as well, and probably your best dining option in the area. There were dogs and other travelers that were fairly noisy at night (I can't fault the hotel for that), there were no in- room robes and parking seemed limited.. these are the only drawbacks I felt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneyesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I almost stayed at a Holiday Inn instead of the Carnegie, and wow, am I glad that I didn't. I really would have missed out! The hotel far exceeded my expectations and was on par with some of the best hotels I have experienced including the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I always hope that a hotel stay will be positive and that I'll have positive memories. It rarely happens though except my stay at the Carnegie Hotel in Johnson City, TN. Compared to prices I have paid elsewhere, the rates were very reasonable. From beginning to end, the hotel exceeded my expectations. The service was friendly and professional, the room was large, clean, and very well appointed. The lobby looked like a lobby in a high- class hotel, it was amazing! Even though the building from the outside looks fairly average, once you step inside, it's as if you have stepped into another world. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#3 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 20 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#6 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#5 of 20 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Hotel

Property: Carnegie Hotel
Address: 1216 W. State of Franklin Rd, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Carnegie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing