We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ETSU”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carnegie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carnegie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ETSU”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having a daughter at ETSU for 4 years we always tryed to stay at the Carnegie as it is so convienant to the campus and affordable. Rooms are very well appointed .A Johnson City tradition of many Buc's Soccer game weekends, Graduation and other weekends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabber_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    116
    27
    10
    11
See reviews for
141
147
24
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a very nice hotel! It was very cozy and upscale. We were not expecting such a hotel on a visit to ETSU. It has fireplaces in the lobby and is well decorated. The rooms are of good size. I recommend to anyone going to Johnson City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fincastle, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had seen this apparently upscale hotel listed online and decided to give it a try. We're going back! While it's not the Ritz, it's a lot of hotel for the money. They even give a discount for Generation America members. We stayed in a king and it was very roomy with all the necessities and a large bath with both soaking tub and stand-up shower. The in-house restaurant is very good, kind of modern southern cuisine. They even have a full service spa which we plan to try on our next visit. All in all an excellent classic hotel that is more than worth the modest price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We found the Carnegie Hotel online while doing a road trip from Cleveland to Florida. We were able to get a last minute room with a quick phone call. The staff was excellent and very welcoming. The room was beautiful with high ceilings and beautiful furnishings. We had a light dinner in the lounge and the food was very good. There was a fire alarm which did take a long time to "clear" so even tho' we knew there was no danger, we did begin our meal with the noise still going. A lovely, historic hotel

Room Tip: Even though our room was facing the busy main road, the nose was not bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here for an extended weekend getaway with my wife and we could not have been happier with the choice. This is an absolutely stunning hotel, no other ways to describe it.

The room was huge and actually had real furniture in it...not the typical headboard nailed to a wall you see in other hotels. The bathroom had a double-vanity sink with a large tub and spacious shower.

The hotel itself has exquisite decor throughout. Antique furnishings, real paintings, and a stocked library. The have an authentic brass mailbox in the lobby which was really cool. Wellington's was a classy place to sip on some cognac and the dinner we had there was worth the 3 hour drive Johnson City alone.

My wife got a massage in the spa downstairs (whilst I enjoyed a little more time at the bar in Wellington's) and she was utterly pleased and relaxed upon seeing her again.

Johnson City is also a cool town to do some things outside the hotel...hiking options galore, some strip mall shopping, and a nice downtown area as well. Will be planning my trip back soon and will be enjoying the Carnegie Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

You will feel like you've stepped back in time. Georgous mahagony furniture with sleigh bed, spacious rooms, large bathroom. Choose between large comfortable deep bath, or shower stall. Two sinks and spacious counter room. Staff is always friendly, the bar area very comfortable, and room service is delicious. All this at a very low price. I normally stay at Marriott or Hilton to gain points; however its a refreshing break to stay here when on business. The have a complete spa and treatments onsite for a relaxing gift to yourself. The restaurant has excellent service and food. I've eaten breakfast and dinner here many times, and would not hesitate to bring my customers here for a speacial meal.

Room Tip: There is a train track nearby, so if your a light sleeper, ask for a room not facing the track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at the Carnegie during an interview process. The staff was friendly and helpful, but didn't go above and beyond what you would expect at most hotels. If you get the cheaper rooms, they are nice, but not over-the-top. They have vintage furniture and decor which adds to the feel of the hotel. The decor in the lounge and restaurant is gorgeous! As a 4 star hotel there are many options to be pampered with, although it would be unrealistic to expect any of it for free. Of course you have to pay for the spa and other services if you want them. I have talked to others about some of the more luxurious rooms and they have said they are truly wonderful. The pricing was reasonable, but I wouldn't consider it a steal. Decent pool, but outside only. The prices in the restaurant were a bit high for what they served. Overall a good stay, and a good choice if you want to enjoy a beautiful historic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan_Noll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
427 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Hotel

Property: Carnegie Hotel
Address: 1216 W. State of Franklin Rd, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Family Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnegie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing