We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carnegie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnegie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
East Petersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a gorgeous hotel right near the ETSU campus. The staff was welcoming, and the ammenities were great. You feel like you're in the lap of luxury at this place. The art deco style mixes beautifully with the modern conveniences. The rooms are spacious, clean, and elegant. Though we could hear the train, it was not distracting nor intrusive. Room service was a bit slow, and they actually forgot one of our menu items, but it took much less time to correct the mistake than it did to get our orignal order so it was clear they worked double time to right the situation. The beds were very comfortable, and there were more than enough pillows. As I was waiting in the lobby, I heard another guest ask for additional towels at the front desk as they were on their way to get something in their car, and the desk attendant immediately responded and had towels waiting when the guest came back in-- offering them to him on the spot or to have them delivered. Would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    116
    27
    10
    11
See reviews for
141
148
24
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed at the Carnegie while attending a family event. The rooms were clean and elegant. I spoke with Crystal Phillips, Director of Sales, to book my room and she was excellent. Most times when I travel, I stay in chain hotels, but this independent hotel was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WMC2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarksville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is my first time in Johnson City and this hotel makes me want to come back again. The room is big and CLEAN!! Very inviting place to stay. Housekeeping is doing a great job. The mixture of old world and modern style is a perfect match.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancydjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
261 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great Facility, large rooms, great value, would absolutely stay again. Some previous posters complained about the train noise, typically only heard 1 train a night before 10PM, lasting for about 2 minutes. I will exchange the train noise for that of the newly constructed hotels where to you can hear people talking in the corridors, doors slamming, people walking across the floors above you, etc. which the Carnegie had none of. The Carnegie also all the amenities expected with an upscale hotel, the wife took advantage of the spa.

Parking is a minor issue but not bothersome and the front desk did not offer services they provide at the hotel upon check-in and had to pry the information about the facility from them

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We visited this hotel for a family wedding...could not have asked for a nicer place to stay..

The rehearsal dinner was held at the hotel and it was really pleasant...food was good,venue was just right..and it was enjoyed by all..

The rooms are a good size but the bathroom was the best...double sinks...separate shower and tub and really quite large...

If I am ever there again I would love to stay .

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank UsaJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I am a business traveler and the Carnegie has always been superior - the food, the bar selection, the room & cleanliness.
Thanks and keep it up.

Room Tip: I always get a room opposite traffic as I am a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPerdue812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

What a great old world hotel, just stepping into the lobby takes you back to the early 1900's. The rooms are larger then you find in the new hotel chains and very nice. The restaurant is just as opulent and the food is fabulous. The only downside is the exercise room needs new equipment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aloisius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Hotel

Property: Carnegie Hotel
Address: 1216 W. State of Franklin Rd, Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Family Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnegie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing