We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of Salt N' Pepper - CLOSED

Salt N' Pepper
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
jacksonville beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The ambiance was very unique! Could look around for hours. The food was also unique. Ordinary items were enhanced with extra ingredients. The food was fantastic. However the service was a little slow without returning to our table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    13
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good food, Bad service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While the cuisine was genuine soul food and very tasty, my meal was a rather disappointing experience. The dining room is decorated on the cheap and the place has an old, grimy, slapped together feel. The servers all acted like they were doing you a big favor by taking your order and slowly delivering the goods. Could be a big hit if they just learned something about customer service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“YUMMY food at for the whole family at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've been wanting to try this restaurant for quite a while. A friend and I ate lunch today. It was busy, but waitstaff was attentive. I was happy to see the very long list of today's sides along with the regular sides. I love making my lunch out of side dishes. SNP lets you choose 3, 4 or 5 sides with a corn cake. I picked the 4 sides plate with squash casserole, mac and cheese, soup beans, and sauteed apples. Total was less than $7. Everything including the corn cake was great, but the squash casserole was fantastic. My friend had the grilled shrimp and grits which she also said was great. I checked out the food going to other tables and everything looked terrific. I would love to try the fried chicken and the homemade chips. The food is prepared fresh and it was a bit of a wait, but not terrible. They also serve a variety of burgers. My friend has small children and she was happy to see that the children's menu was just smaller portions of anything on the regular menu. Lots of kid friendly choices on the regular menu like mac and cheese and chicken tenders. But if your kids feel constrained by the limited options on most children's menu, this is the restaurant for you. Lunch portions were in the $7-9 range and dinner was about $2 more. I can't wait to go back.There are at least 10 other side dishes I want to try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GMJinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, Tn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food. Great Veggies...best around”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I really love the vegetable selections. This is one of my favorite places to eat. They actually season and prepare each veggie selection daily. I eat here about 3 times a week and mostly always get the veggie plate, although they also make a mean Cheeseburger. Seriously you should give this place a try. Hard to find places like this any more. Their ranking should be over any chain restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harford Md
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Chicken Tenders, Squash Casserole, Chicken Salad and Black Beans and rice - YUM. Wish I was staying longer, I would have tried other items. Friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt N' Pepper also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing