We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt N' Pepper - CLOSED

Salt N' Pepper
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

In town for convention. The fried green tomato salad very good. Liked the menu everyone else satisfied lots of food. Will probably come back if in the area again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anomous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    13
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appalachian Mountains
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“3-1/2 stars actually”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

It's got more soul than a Pat Boone cover of a Little Richard song, for sure. Just a little more. The fried chicken, the mashed potatoes, the french fries, were good. My wife's shrimp po boy sandwich, the hot sauce, were excellent. My side of otherwise tasty collards were so salty I could feel my blood pressure going up. Salt 'N Pepper's biggest miss was the simplest one: The iced tea was flavorless, reddish-orange water. The menus they handed us had big grease spots on them. I know why they did, which isn't really the problem. The problem is they need to cover them in plastic.

Our waitress was very efficient and friendly. The decor was fun, not so much soul as sort of 1950s-1960s soda shop. Vinyl 33 RPM's on the wall. Motown playing, which was good. Another eccentric edge to the place was the hostess. My wife watched her fail miserably to wipe one table clean (which a waitress quickly corrected) and when we asked her to bring us a to-go container she mumbled "okay" and then wandered and didn't come back. At checkout, however, she seemed very comfortable and efficient with the cash register, though somewhat Stepford Wives when she mechanically inquired how my meal was, and when I said "Pretty good, except the collards were too salty", her reply seemed memorized, not felt. This lady, who is quite pretty, and is probably quite intelligent, is not meant to be in the service sector and it shows.

Still, we enjoyed Salt N'Pepper. It's a fun place, not too expensive, definitely not perfect. We arrived on a sunny June Saturday about 6 p.m., and it was fairly busy, good crowd. Is it soul food really? Only white people were eating dinner while we were there. Not a single Afro-American. My wife said, "Well, maybe the black people show up later". "I dunno," I replied, "Maybe blacks get their soul food at home so they're all out eating weiner schnitzel at Freibergs or General Tao chicken at the Magic Wok."

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great servers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The menu is a front and back faded copy, with the daily specials listed on a separate card and on the chalk wall out front. Doesn't look fancy, but the food is more than enough to make up for that! Everything is cooked fresh, and when they are out, they're out. No cooking ahead! We've been several times, and our favorites are the hamburgers (seriously, so juicy and flavorful... best in the TriCities), the fried green tomatoes (perfectly breaded and crispy), the mac and cheese, the chicken livers and the strawberry shortcake. The portions are more than enough, the prices are SO great.4 of us went out. 2 appetizers, 2 desserts and 4 meals... less than $50!!!! Amazing. The outside dining is a nice touch. Bathrooms are always clean (which makes me feel like the kitchen probably is, too). Wait staff is great on keeping up with filling your drinks, and always super nice. This has become our favorite restaurant in JC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emalemaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Southern Food in the Tri-Cities!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ordered fried green tomatoes as an appetizer and they were delicious- big portion too, could share with a table of 4-6. The chicken n dumplings, sweet corn bread, fried okra, and mashed potatoes made for an absolutely scrumptious dinner. And for dessert, the honey bun cake was heavenly. Overall our dinner was amazing! Will definitely be going back and bringing friends along too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fleenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, if you can get it..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited Salt N' Pepper for the third time a few weeks ago. The smoked ham and collard greens were delicious. Unfortunately, 4 attempted order options were "out" (french fries-- who runs out of french fries?, fried mushrooms, cornbread dressing, and baked beans).. Overall, the food is good, the specials are pricey and the portions aren't huge, but it's worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt N' Pepper also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing