We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good cookin'”
Review of Salt N' Pepper - CLOSED

Salt N' Pepper
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bristol, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just good cookin'”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I recently ate at SNP and it was wonderful! We both had the fried chicken and 2 sides. We choose Mac&Cheese, roasted red potatoes and fried zuchini and squash. The chicken was juicy and perfectly cooked and the mac&cheese was amazing and some of the best I have ever had. Great atmosphere and good service make it all the better. We will definitly be back for more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TammyDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    13
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avery County NC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent and simple...great food ...great service”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have visited snp 3 times now...each time is excellent. The food is simple and excellent. The fried chicken is to die for and they have the best black eyed peas with griddle cornbread. Great selection of side and desserts.

But they customer service is what sets this place apart. If they can meet your request they will. We were having the chicken wings app when I ask if they had celery. They did. It was from the day before and floppy, they were going to use it for stock. This is told to me and I was ask if i still wanted the celery. I declined but I sure appreciated the effort to go find out and come back to the table and give me the option.

There is one itty bitty con, the food take a few minutes ....I go in there....not that hungry etc.
By the time I have been seated and look at the board for the specials and veggies ....I feel like I have not eaten in years. In a lot of ways, it is going back home to where the food is solid home cooking and you do wanna go home and smack your momma ....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strollingbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
242 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This will be my 3rd time. Cannot beat the food. I was so impresses with the fried chicken livers and the grits. Its great that they have a authentic restaurant here

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjj150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious, Simple”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just had my first meal at Salt 'N Pepper, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I had the fish and grits, and it was a very generous serving of each. I had heard a lot about this place; seems word is getting around. For Thursday lunch the restaurant was nearly full. As I was leaving, a fellow told the cashier that he was from Nashville and this was the best food he had had in the Tri-Cities. It's near the top of my list, too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank himtall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this Restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We've eaten here several times and the food is always good. Now that they've been open for a while, the kinks appear to be worked out and the service is always good. Be prepared to wait, the food is prepared fresh to order.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meema23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt N' Pepper also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing