We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs,Wings and Brisket”
Review of The Hokie Smokie

The Hokie Smokie
Ranked #21 of 306 Restaurants in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Ribs,Wings and Brisket”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

My son found this place in Johnson city Tn. Went to see my boys at school and have a boys night out. This place was great. Service was great and the Ribs,Wings and Brisket were great. The sides were home made and fresh. Do not miss this place if you are in Johnson City Tn.

Helpful?
Thank AllenCurtis_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gray, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tried it once, will go back”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Ate at Hokie Smokie on a Saturday afternoon and enjoyed it. The cornmeal dusted bun on the pork bbq sandwich was different than any other old plain bun so it was good. The sauce is sweet but just right for the sandwich. The sweet potato fries were a little over-done (may try a different side next time).

The only negative was the server didn't ever refill my drink. We finally had to flag down another server to take care of this for us.

Overall it was a positive experience and I will go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNtraveler070567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“delicious barbeque”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

excellent food ! The beef brisket is the best I have ever had. The service is good and the servers are very friendly, recognizing you and commenting if they have not seen you in a while. It is nice to be remembered. The restaurant is very clean and inviting. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TnMawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“It's...ok”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

With all the other BBQ options around here, to stand out you have to do pretty good. Unfortunatly, Hokie Smokie just doesn't. Their BBQ is simply ok. Dixie, Phil's dreampit (going toward Kingsport), Firehouse, and a whole bunch of others within 20 minutes of J.C. are simply better at what they do. Portions are ok, but prices are a little out of whack with the rest of the BBQ places in town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good stuff”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Best overall BBQ place in the tricities for me. The brisket is by far the best I've had around here at a restaurant and it's not really close either.....the sauce has grown on me the more I have eaten there, originally i thought it was too sweet but it really compliments the brisket in particular. Owner is a nice guy...go eat here if you want real BBQ and don't have time to make it yourself

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hokie Smokie also viewed

 

Been to The Hokie Smokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing