We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff”
Review of The Hokie Smokie

The Hokie Smokie
Ranked #23 of 305 Restaurants in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“Good stuff”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Best overall BBQ place in the tricities for me. The brisket is by far the best I've had around here at a restaurant and it's not really close either.....the sauce has grown on me the more I have eaten there, originally i thought it was too sweet but it really compliments the brisket in particular. Owner is a nice guy...go eat here if you want real BBQ and don't have time to make it yourself

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little Joint”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Heard about this at the place I was working at. Was told her there early or you won't get what you want. Had full rack Memphis dry rub, there it's sauce on table.good portions,great ribs, great service. What a rub joint should be...

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Generous Mild BBQ”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

As others have said, this may not be the greatest BBQ ever, but it is darn good. Portions are ample, and the prices moderate. We particularly enjoyed the "Rivalry" platters that allow you to choose an assortment of BBQ to your taste. The meats are cooked without sauce. You can add the rather sweet sauces to your taste. Note: Hokie Smoakie is a short drive from the highly-rated Red Roof Inn, where we stayed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just okay..not great”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had eaten here before and been pleased with my lunch. My husband and I went and both of us agreed we would not go again. The food was very overcooked. I can't say that anything we ordered was outstanding. It was just a little expensive for the quality of the food served. I agree that Firehouse is a better choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JCTNGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hokie-Dokie Hokie-Smokie”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My first visit, but not my last
Great food (turkey with bacon sandwich on a bun) with a side (homemade cole-slaw)
Plenty of meat, good turkey plus bacon slices with lettuce and nice tasting sauces
Great service - very attentive but not intrusive
Great beverage - Yuengling and others on tap
Great crowd - a sign of good foods and service
Great location - easy in and out
Going back soon with no doubt!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hokie Smokie also viewed

 

Been to The Hokie Smokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing