We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We travel for business and this is one of our favorite places to stay. We've been staying at this location for approximately two years. It's clean, great price & location and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. The staff is friendly and helpful. This week is the only time there was an issue toilet didn't flush correctly. We spoke with the guy that works evenings and he promptly gave us another room while apologizing for the problem. So great customer service!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank hotshoterwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 302 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is the second "next generation" red roof inn that we have stayed at - I was skeptical at first, but - this new "next gen" look is clean, comfortable, and has great appeal at an affordable price.
We like that they accept auto club discounts AND Redi-points (red roof inn exclusive).
Laminate floors, (not carpet), comfortable rooms, fridges / microwaves, wifi, flat screen tv... Red roof has really made some great changes.
This location is located close to grocery store, restaurants, pharmacy etc. So if you are staying, convenience is close. It's tucked off the road, so it's quiet.
We look forward to stopping here again soon! Also.... red roof inn's are 'pet friendly'. There isn't a breakfast included - but they do have coffee in the lobby, and the price is cheap - breakfast can be made in room, or picked up close by as this location has 'deals' with local restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsKzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The staff was very nice, the hotel room was very clean, although there was a slightly pungent odor coming from the A/C. We didn't notice it after some time in the room, but every time we left and returned, we could smell it.... smelled like "dirty socks" (according to my grandson). the beds were comfortable, the TV was nice, although I was disappointed we could not pick up the hockey game (game seven of Stanley cup playoffs) had to go to a bar to watch that.
The internet is absurdly slow, worse than most dial up connections. (the staff person said they were in the process of upgrading this) although the shower area is very small, it was very clean and well maintained. and good water pressure. I have stayed in red roof's before and found them to also be a good value. very reasonable priced, Suited me fine for a one night stopover on a longer trip. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank regnadkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It is a basic property, but you could not find a cleaner one. There are numerous restaurants so you don't miss one in hotel. Coffee is served in lobby 24hrs. Staff is friendly and helpful. Can not go wrong with price, great value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52Debbie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed 5/25/14 in room 122. Woke up at a little after 3:00am itchy wondering what the heck was going on. I have whelts on my arms! Didn't want to wake hubby so I got my key chain that has a small LED flashlight. Pulled back the sheets and there we three tiny crawling little bugs. One was smooshed. Awful! Got hubby up, took a shower, and went to the front desk. Handed her the room cards and said, "We are leaving now!". She didn't even say "sorry" about the room. Not that I gave her time! I didn't even stay to fight to get back the money we paid. Just wanted GONE from there! Up until 3:00am the stay wasn't bad. Everyone was nice, the room was small but looked clean. Maybe another traveler brought them in because they were very tiny, but still....YUCK! Totally creeped me out!

Room Tip: LOOK AT THE BEDDING - LOOK AT THE MATTRESS-I don't know how you would see something that tiny if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brett c, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

My apologies for not responding sooner. I was out of the state on vacation.

We take any Bed Bug claim very seriously. If you ever should have an issue, please let us know at property level, so we can address them right away.

As soon as we saw your review, we held the room in question. If a past guest had brought anything to any of our rooms, we want to get it treated immediately, to prevent any future guests from being impacted. My Maintenance GSR, who is trained on bed bugs, did an inspection of the room and found nothing. We also called, and paid our commercial pest control company, Ecolab, to do an inspection as well, to make sure we did not miss anything. They came out on May 30th, and performed their independent inspection. Ecolab also found zero evidence of bed bug activity.

I do apologize for whatever it was that disturbed you, but rest assured, it was not bed bugs.

Thank you, and I hope you have an enjoyable summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed here one night on a drive from Jasper, Georgia to Shenandoah Valley in Virginia. This type of hotel is at a lower price level than the type we normally stay in, so we didn't expect the same amenities that we are used to. But we were surprised on how clean and new-looking this 20+ year old motel was--it was remodeled a few years ago! The front desk people were really friendly. The bed was comfortable and we would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanamaDave52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brett c, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

I am very pleased you were pleasantly surprised. We have a good staff here, who takes pride in the property.

I am glad you liked the results of the renovation we did a couple of years ago.

Thank you again, and if you are passing through this way again, we look forward to seeing you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed the weekend and the room was clean, beds and pillows were very comfortable. We could have upgraded to a room with microwave, mini-fridge and hair dryer but we didn't need it. The staff was friendly and so was the other guest staying there. You can walk to shopping or resturants.The parking lot is well lite. What else can you ask for !! We visit Johnson City about 2-3 times a year and always stay at Red Roof Inn.....It never disappoints !!
Deb

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brett c, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for staying with us consistently. We certainly appreciate it.

I am pleased you always find the rooms to be clean and comfortable, and the staff is always friendly. This is what we strive for. We will be improving our WiFi very shortly, and I hope you enjoyed our new television channel lineup.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
586 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Johnson City
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Johnson City
3.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Johnson City
WoodSpring Suites Johnson City
#12 of 19 in Johnson City
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Johnson City

Address: 210 Broyles Dr, Johnson City, TN 37601-2508
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Johnson City
#5 Business Hotel in Johnson City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range: $50 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Johnson City 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 miles from Freedom Hall and 3 miles from East Tennessee State University, this100% Non-Smoking Red Roof is also within ¼ mile of The Mall, and 3 miles from the VA Medical Center. Historic Jonesborough, Appalachian Fairgrounds and Wetland Water park are within a 10 minute drive, while Bristol International Raceway is just ½ hour away. This hotel features Newly Renovated Rooms and is conveniently located within walking distance of many great restaurants When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. Free WiFi is available in all rooms. This location offers microfridges for a nominal fee and has an elevator. All rooms have an in-room safe. (a nominal fee may apply). One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing