We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choices, hot food . . . . will be back!”
Review of Empire Buffet

Empire Buffet
Ranked #187 of 306 Restaurants in Johnson City
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great choices, hot food . . . . will be back!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is one of the better Chinese buffets I have been to in quite some time and I travel a good deal which has given me the chance to try buffets in many areas. The food was hot and well stocked. The staff kept an eye on the options and kept the dishes filled as the patrons emptied them.

With choices that include American food, even picky kids will find something to interest them.

Overall, we were very satisfied with the choices and quality of the food at Empire Buffet and will be returning on a regular basis.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We've found our new favorite buffet restaurant!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We went for the dinner buffet on a Saturday afternoon around 3:30, just before it got busy. Very good, fresh food, friendly staff and it was clean. We will go back soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yuck”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This place was aweful! My husband, son and I went apparently they only serve Todd fresh food during peak house definitely do not go here after or before because you will get left overs from 3 hours ago.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank broccoli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough
Level Contributor
121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just not good anymore and dirty”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Though they have lots of choices, food is not that great. The temperature of the food is too low and the trays are not kept filled. Crab rangoon wasn't even close to what you can get at Asiana in Asheville - wish it wasn't over 1 and 1/2 hours away. The worst part were tears in the seating, cobwebs on the outside of the window which looked like it hadn't been washed all year. If these things are let go, I can imagine what might be let go in the kitchen. Yes, parking is fine but no prices listed. We went Saturday afternoon with friends at 4 p.m. and were charged over $56 not including tip for the 4 buffets, 3 sodas and 1 lemonade. I guess we will have to go back to Hibachi Grill in Johnson City next time or else take the drive to Asheville to Asiana.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoxFamily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
338 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Buffet to the Max”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This has got to be one of the best Chinese Buffets I have ever eaten. The choices here were never ending- Sushi included. Everything looked and tasted so fres and the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable whether your were a couple or the whole family-Grandma and Granpa included! The price was really reasonable. It is very easy to get to and to park. Great evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Empire Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing