We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, Unforgetable, Unique Experience!”

Appalachian GhostWalks
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Appalachian GhostWalks' located in the East Tennessee Smoky Mountains and Southwest Virginia Highlands offers sixteen different Ghost History and Bigfoot Adventures with both day and evening vacation packages. Recently voted one of the best ghost tours in America by USA Today's 10Best, holding the #2 spot in the Nation, visitors will thrill to our lantern-led haunted and historic walking tours presented by professionally Certified Ghost Hunters who recount true "spine-tingling" stories of real history and real ghosts. Our full-day "Mountain Mysteries" Adventure Packages offer a chance to visit the interiors of mansions, museums, historic sites, and caves throughout our region. Everyone is invited to come and bring the whole family, or group on a haunted history adventure in what the Cherokee call "Shaconage" - the sacred land of blue smoke! All offerings are located in the heart of the Northeastern Tennessee and Southwest Virginia Mountains to include towns featuring buildings that pre-date the civil war in Historic Dandridge, Erwin, Elizabethton, Johnson City, Greeneville, Rogersville, Blountville, Gatlinburg, and Jonesborough - once listed on the Travel Channel as one of the top ten most haunted towns in America! Our Haunted and historic Virginia tours presently include the historic districts of Bristol, also known as the "Birthplace of Country Music" and Abingdon, Virginia - a gateway town to this area rich in heritage and history and designated by Congress "America's First Western Frontier". Our history, in towns listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is endorsed by local historians, historical societies, and local heritage alliance partners. In addition, for our avid paranormal enthusiasts who love to delve deeper into the mysteries of our mountains, we offer several North American firsts to include the "Legendary Cherokee Bigfoot Adventure Tour" and the "Appalachian UFO Close Encounters Adventure Tour" - and Roswell, New Mexico doesn't hold a candle to the stories, experiences, and general "goings-on" we have here in these mountains! Also, so sorry, but we do not offer vampire or zombie tours. We hope to see your family, friends, or tour group soon for a simply SPOOK-tacular good time!!!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
NY
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun, Unforgetable, Unique Experience!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Words can hardly express the experience we had when taking two back-to-back Appalachian GhostWalks tours one day in early November. Our guide was extremely generous with his time, and he slowly inducted us into his ghost-finding methodology by explaining the dowsing process, which we learned to perform as well. Next we went down into an extensive cavern and were treated to a very interesting, spooky, and memorable ghostwalk underground. After emerging about four hours(!) later, we were taken to the streets of Blountville, where our guide took us past several haunted buildings and related their histories to us.

This was a thoroughly unique and unforgettable experience about which we will always have fond memories. Such an experience may not be what everyone is looking for, however: Our guide eschewed the predictable, cheap thrills that so many "ghost hunter" television shows traffic in, and instead gave us a more in-depth ghostwalk that contained more information (historical, religious, and scientific) than the average thrill-seeker might want or expect. But we personally LOVED the 7+ hours that we spent on the Appalachian GhostWalks. If you are open-minded and prepared to be thoroughly entertained by a very unique and erudite tour guide, this is one very worthwhile ghost tour you will never forget.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WRNNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppalachnGhostWalks, Owner at Appalachian GhostWalks, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guests... We just wanted to take a moment to express our heartfelt appreciation for your review of your two tours with us in November 2012. We try to exceed each and every guests expections and it is so wonderful when our efforts are rewarded by those king and generous enough to take a moment and reflect on their experiences. As the holiday season approaches, may God's blessings truly rest with you and your family, bringing you safely back to us at some point in the future to explore more of the world of the unexplained throughout America's First Western Frontier - Northeast Tennessee. Once again, thank you so very much for taking the time to post your comments! Stacey Allen, Tour Director and Owner - Appalachian GhostWalks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    6
    2
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ecru, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
“Absolutely Awesome Experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I took this ghostwalk tour in Dandridge,Tennessee, which is the second oldest town in Tennessee, on Oct. 23,2012. Let me begin by saying that this is not a money trap! We got our money's worth and a lot more. This is not a tour where your gonna be mislead about ANYTHING! I can't believe some of the negative reviews about this attraction. Our tour guide Stacey is a walking history book. He is very informed about the history of the towns on his tour down to minute details. He is not interested in giving out false information just to thrill his customers. No, we didn't see any casper looking ghosts but we felt and sensed the presence of something or someone from the past that is definitely REAL!! Stacey made this experience fun and exciting with true stories from his experiences, historical facts, and unexplained happenings of the past and present. DO NOT be deceived by some of these negative comments about this tour. We were never promised ANYTHING before we began the tour. As for as getting your money's worth, Stacey was about ten minutes late due to an accident on the interstate, but gave us an extra hour of tour time. Does that sound like someone who is trying to rip people off? I DON'T THINK SO!! We will absolutely spend our money again with Appalachian Ghostwalks. We are already anticipating our next tour. You will spend more money at the movies than you will on this AWESOME one of a kind experience. Make you reservations NOW, you will be hauntingly surprised by the experience. Once again, thank you to Stacey for an unforgettable experience!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest, words can not express how deeply appreciative we are of your review from your experience/s with us. As many of our past guests have discovered, you mean more to us than just another patron. We think of and try to treat each and every guest as friends and family. We are so much looking forward to having you with us again soon!!! Stacey Allen, Tour Director, Appalachian GhostWalks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
“My First Experience On A Ghost Tour”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

During fall break my son and I went on our first ghost tour through Appalachian GhostWalks, it was amazing. My son had been anticipating the tour all day and he was not disappointed. He could not stop talking about the next day! I was very pleased with the level of detail that went into this tour. Our tour guide Stacey was extremely knowlegable about the sites we visited and was very professional and pleasant. As a pastor myself I was impressed with the way he wove the supernatural and bilical truths together. All I can say is it was fascinating and I highly recommend it. Needless to say this will be a permanent fixture on our vacations to Tennessee. Can't wait for the next one!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yossi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppalachnGhostWalks, Owner at Appalachian GhostWalks, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Friends, it was such an honor to have you with us on our Greeneville GhostWalk. As you discovered, many years of hard work and passionate devotion to the cause of providing substance to the Faith that, hopefully, we all share has gone into the production of each and everyone of our family of fourteen region wide tours. You and your son were simply a delight to have on our tours and as anyone who reads these reviews can tell, people either love us, or not. As a very unique look at the Afterlife and what happens to us when we pass from body to spirit, and I know you would agree, there's nothing quite like the very unique experience that we offer. As the owner of Appalachian GhostWalks, all I can say is, to God be all glory, honor, and praise. The Grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you and your family, now and always!!! Stacey Allen McGee, Owner - Appalachian GhostWalks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
“Appalachian ghost talks, and talks, and talks,.......”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The owner talks and acts just like Zach Galifianakis character from Due date. He talked so much the group walked away from him at one point. He was oblivious to this fact and continued talking....for 15 mins. He talked nonstop for fours hours. Most was of his rant was a mix of his dowsing experiences, biblical references, and paranormal experiences inside of the houses we didn't even get to go in. That's right...we stood outside of a haunted for an hour....and listen about ghost on the inside. It was mental torture.

The only reason we stayed was because 1. we paid 30 bucks each 2. the tour ended in a jail built in 1882. The jail was creepy ..... solid limestone and concrete. The jail cells were small and cold. I didn't see and ghost. I think I know why. The ghost were like..." dammit....this dude again....he never shuts up". That's right....I think the ghost ran from this guy.

If you really dislike somebody, please recommend this ghost walk to them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brandon U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your response and feedback. Upon check on the tour that you participated in, which was not in Jonesborough, we were able to see that of the twenty, or so people that attended the tour, most everyone seems to have had a good time and found it extremely interesting. If anything, your review seems to indicate that you really get your money's worth when choosing a tour company. Most only give you 60 to 90 minutes so at the two person rate you were charged, comparitively across the country, that really is a deal. However, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy the tour. Each and every guest is told that the tours do last three to four hours when they call to reserve. By special request, we can cater a tour performance to be shorter by request and advance reservations for a private group, or couple. The guides also inform or remind everyone at the point of tour departure that if you need to leave early for any reason, you are more than welcome to do so - particularly those who need to get up the next morning. Our guides really put a lot of pasion into each and every tour. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact us and we would be most happy to talk with you further. Again, thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a joke.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This place gave us misleading information. When we called the owner, he told us that we were going inside the buildings, riding a bus, an actually talking about ghosts. Do not let the owner bait you in by saying this stuff. All it is, is a walk around a 2 to 3 block radius standing in the cold listing to a story about a building. Do not waste 70 dollars, just do research and take pictures of windows yourself, you can do as much research as the guides done on the way to the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous123451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppalachnGhostWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Appalachian GhostWalks, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest... We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I invite you to contact us to share your thoughts and feedback about your experience so that we can enhance the experience for future guests as per your feedback. We try to exceed the expectations of each and every one of our guests. With thousands of prior completely happy and satisfied guests, your opinion matters to us. If you tour was indeed with Appalachian GhostWalks and not with a competitor's tour, please contact us to see how we might resolve any misunderstandings, or issues with your experience. We look forward to hearing from you. Meanwhile, please feel free to re-visit our website to read hundreds of positive reviews we have received through the years. God's happy blessings to you and yours!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian GhostWalks also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian GhostWalks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing