We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - Bad Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Johnson City
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Bad Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my two year old son and my mother. My sister lives in Gray, TN so this hotel was close enough to drive each day. The hotel is located in a shopping center off of North State of Franklin Road which is close to shopping and malls in Johnson City. The address to use for your GPS to find it is 1100 North State of Franklin Road since the hotel address does not exist yet. There is no defined "road" to the hotel yet, there is a gravel drive that is marked off with wire to lead you to the hotel. You have to turn on to Med-Tech Parkway across from Franklin Woods Hospital to get to the shopping center where the hotel is located since there is not direct access from the main road. The hotel is new, clean, and the staff were friendly. The wireless internet is free but the breakfast is not and is way over priced. The soft drink machine lists $2.50 for a bottled 20 ounce Pepsi, I thought my mom was going to faint when she saw that. The rooms have refrigerators so you can buy drinks somewhere cheaper and keep them in the room. The bed was hard as a rock and the pillows might as well have been made from concrete but I am used to sleeping on a memory foam mattress and pillows so that is probably why I was so miserable. Overall it was a good stay, it was hard to find someone at the front desk most of the time but the people that worked there were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are quieter as they are further away from the construction. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plail30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    53
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
23
15
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stay at this hotel and several others every month because I travel for my job. The staff at the Johnson City Courtyard are outstanding. Victoria is their brightest and best employee, when she is working I am gauranteed a big smile and a great greeting upon my arrival.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Great hotel. The room was amazing (Larger King)! Very nice and courteous staff. Check-in was a breeze! However, it took forever for the hot water in the shower to heat to an enjoyable temperature. The directions from Mapquest directed us to a closed road!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YBS46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Property was new and sort of difficult to access, but area is being developed. Very nice hotel, booked online and check-in was very simple. Front desk staff were very coureous and professional. Room was very clean. This hotel is an example of why I am a Marriott rewards member!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Conveniently located near Bristol, TN. Very clean and spacious. Nice area near the front entrance to meet and gather with friends to play cards or watch TV. The only complaint was with the shower water temperature. It was not hot enough, just warm. Came with a group, and everyone with rooms on the first floor had the same complaint and everyone on the second floor had no complaints with the water. Staff was very friendly and would not mind staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hotel appears to be fairly new; most likely no more than a year old. The room I stayed in was very large with two double beds. It appeared to be a handicap room though I can't be sure. The room came with all the standard amenities. The furniture is in good shape. It has a wardrobe connected to a table with three drawers for clothes and a good writing desk. The room had a nook with coffee maker and small fridge. All the equipment in the room is in good working order. The bathroom is large and nicely laid out. The room and bathroom are very clean. The beds and pillows are comfortable and slept well. The airconditioner worked a wee bit too well. It was difficult to adjust it to my preference. The room has a wall thermostat. The room I stayed in had a nice view of a large green pasture, which I liked. Though I doubt it will remain. Off to the right are soldiers of row houses waiting to invade the area. The service at the hotel is good. I ate at the bistro and found the food to be adequate. No meals are included in the base rate. The lobby is very spacious. It is comprised of the Bistro dining area and a nice size sitting area which also houses the business center. The whole lobby appears to have been designed as an attractive space for guests to use and not a space designed as an afterthought. The location of the hotel is good. Close to I-26 and not too far from ETSU. If you are visiting ETSU a university rate is available, but you have to call to get it as it is not available on the marriott website. The hotel is located a wee bit off State of Franklin and I think that's a good thing because you can't hear any road noise. However, you can hear the train. It is also close to all kinds of restaurants and shops. I feel this is a good place to stay when visiting Johnson City and I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYJCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Johnson City, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to know you were pleased and will be joining us again the next time you are in the Tri-Cities.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Ill keep it short and simple. If you are looking for a nice hotel in Johnson City, PICK THIS ONE!
I have stayed in more Marriott's than I can count and this one is fantastic.

The room is beautiful. Spacious, clean and very well decorated. The pool is nice and there even is a nice little bonfire thing outside. The bathroom is very spacious and even that is well decorated.

The front desk staff was very courteous and was willing to help me out with all of my requirements. I stayed on the 3rd floor, facing the pool. The view was great; nice hills of TN.

The lobby area seemed new and was very comfortable.

It is close to all the shopping areas you can really find in an area like Johnson City! Best Buy, Verizon Wireless, AT&T, Bed Bath.. along with numerous other stores are within minutes of it.

All in all, this hotel is now one of my favorites and next time I have to go down to TN, I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fahadmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYJCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Johnson City, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review. I will share your comments with the associates. We look forward to seeing you back in the beautiful Tri-Cites real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
3.0 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Johnson City
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Johnson City

Property: Courtyard Johnson City
Address: 4025 Hamilton Pl, Johnson City, TN 37604-7927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for Johnson City hotels, then you'll love our Courtyard Johnson City. Our hotel in Johnson City, Tennessee is just off I-81 and I-26, near East Tennessee State University (ETSU) and Quillen College of Medicine. We're also close to Johnson City Medical Center, as well as the Hands On Museum and Bristol Motor Speedway - home to NASCAR and NHRA races. Stay around town for the National Storytelling Festival, held each year in October. Our stylish Johnson City, TN hotel features an open, contemporary lobby with media pod booths, a business library, and 52" GoBoard touch-screen TV. The Bistro offers delicious breakfast and dinner options with beverages from Starbucks and our full bar. Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy patio seating around our fire pit, cook out in our BBQ area, relax in our pool, or work out in our fitness room. Planning an event? Let us know - our largest space hosts up to 50. Few Johnson City hotels can top our service and attention to detail, so make your reservation today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Johnson City Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing