We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome customer service with a smile!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Salinas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome customer service with a smile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We traveled with family members to stay at this hotel 6/7-8/2013 for our nephew's wedding. The staff members are really friendly and answered any questions. The king size bed, Room 419, was nicely decorated and had plenty of space. The bed was comfortable. We tried the continental breakfast, very good. They had a variety of breakfast items. The location of the hotel is up on a hill, it overlooks the freeway and Johnson City. There is a WAFFLE HOUSE and Cracker Barrel Restaurant nearby. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    64
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
92
34
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
180 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I enjoyed my recent stay at this property, which is just off the interstate but easy to miss. Look for a little realtor-sized sign pointing out the street to turn on. Apart from that, this hotel was right on: good room, good bed, good breakfast, very friendly and accommodating staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back face an embankment. Go for the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesuerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked this hotel over the phone a few hours before arrival. Staff members were really friendly and offered detailed directions. The room was clean, beds comfortable. Breakfast was included. It was the usual (coffee/juice, biscuits, eggs, muffins, yogurt, milk, etc). It's a bit out of the way if you want to stay very close to I-81, but we found the extra few minutes of detour to be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redonkulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed 5/31/13- 6/2/13. The hotel was updated and all parts were clean and nice. The breakfast was as expected, great and plentiful. Everything was functional and updated in the exercise room, did not venture to the pool, not enough time.
The biggest difference was the staff. First off, I am not high maintenance. When I need something, it is legitimate. We came in about 11PM, after a party and all the parking was full. It was due to race fans and their trailers, (some took 3 parking spots). I might have had a little attitude, since some people could have only used two. The desk clerk could have directed me to park in timbuctu, but no.... Brett, desk clerk extraordinaire, diffused me in one second. He grabbed his keys, moved his car and said park in my space. W O W !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheilavehla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about our staff. I am very glad to hear that my employee went above and beyond to accommadate you and this is what we want from our staff in order to provide 100% guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed over night at this hotel on 5/30/13. The most impressive thing that I can stay is the friendliness of the staff--all of them. The room was your standard HIE room and was found to be clean and comfortable. Cons: the phone did not work or if it did, we could not get anyone to answer at the front desk and there was no dial tone. Since we had cell phones, we didn't fret over this issue. One outlet on the lamp did not work. Just minor things but needs attention. When leaving, there wasn't anyone at the front desk so I didn't report the things needing attention.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJTinTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am very sorry you experienced issues during your stay but that was the night we had a power outage in the area and our cable service was interrupted so our phones, tv, and internet did not work for several hours. If you return to our area please stop in and see us and hopefully we can compensate you and give you a more enjoyable stay and better service.
Again I apologize for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business trips. The hotel is always in great shape and has great services. The Managers Receptions on week nights is also a very good bonus to the stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanp395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 room suite. Very large and well appointed. Comfortable bed. Hotel is nice and modern. Front desk staff was very nice. Several cons-this property is not close to the main restaurant and shopping area and is not close to the medical center. The shower in this rm was odd. It was handicapped equipped and had multiple shower controls that were hard to adjust and get good pressure. Also, the housekeeping staff definitely found short cuts in cleaning our rm. The bathroom had not been cleaned. Just new towels and trash dumped. There was hair on the floor and in the tub, and the toilet hadn't been cleaned. Although a nice hotel, would probably not stay here again because so far off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiahighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear virginiahighlander,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our front desk and bed.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from housekeeping which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
5.9 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Johnson City
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 2 Orr Court, Johnson City, TN 37615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#3 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tri-Cities Newest & Best Hotel Features 81 non-smoking rooms, complimentary hot breakfast includes scrambled eggs, sausage,bacon,biscuits and gravy, warm delicious cinnamon buns exclusive to the Holiday Inn Express, indoor heated pool/jacuzzi, board room, fitness center, free wireless and wired internet restaraunts within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing