We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a terrific, pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Johnson City
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
381 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“What a terrific, pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This facility is an older, two storey building with an exterior entrance to the rooms. However, the entire place has recently been painted inside and out and it looks great. Due to its age, the rooms are somewhat smaller but everything in our room was brand new - carpeting, furniture, king bed, sofa, refrigerator, microwave, 40" flat screen TV, etc. The bed was extremely comfortable. The small sofa was an unexpected surprise that made the room most enjoyable for the leisure time we spent there. The bathroom countertop was a granite type and the whole bath area was spotless. It was very quiet and peaceful. Again, because of the age, the breakfast eating area is much smaller than you might find in newer establishments. Seating is limited as previously reported. The breakfast food selection is very standard with all the usual items, but they did have pretty good scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, and waffles. Contrary to a previous review, the location is in a very good area and seemed perfectly safe to us. Easy access to anything in the area. A great value for the dollar! We highly recommend this facility and would stay again when in Johnson City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BionicOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
40
34
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good for an overnight stop. My room had new carpeting. As others have said the breakfast room is very small but the food was quite good. I thought for the price it was a great value. They added a small charge for a room safe automatically to my bill. Make sure to have them remove it if you don't use the room safe.

Room Tip: I chose the queen room with a small whirlpool bath. I liked this room as it was down a corridor fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirEdward7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Although the motel could use updating, our room was clean and the location was very convenient. Desk clerk was very helpful. Only complaint was only 2 towels were placed in the room. Overall, a good choice while in town for the Stoytelling Festival and I'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I live six hours away from Johnson City. When visiting my daughter at ETSU I was looking for a convenient location off the interstate. I was very pleasantly pleased to find out that they give a discount to parents of ETSU! The room rate for parents of ETSU students was 58 dollars! The rooms are very adequate with refrigerators, microwave oven and large flat screen TV's. The location was so convenient, next to fast food restaurants, gas station, ATM etc. When I asked about the rate over graduation I was estatic to find that it was the same!! I was expecting it to at least double and be charged for two days as the usual practice in most college towns. I was informed that they double the rate for races in Bristol but not for gratuations. This is such a curtesy for parents of students. Especially, those from great distances. I found Kim to be very friendly and informative. I highly recommend this location for families of ETSU students.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Room wasn't too bad, no bugs and no mold. Since the rates are somewhat low, you get a lot of construction type workers there, so it was pretty noisy all night (thank you ear plugs). The basics are within walking distance, but you may not want to walk very far after dark. There was not enough chairs in the breakfast area for the number of people there when I stopped by. The next day I got there early and it was ok. I'll probably try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandwife91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim p, Manager at Quality Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post. We appreciate your feedback. The area is a safe area to venture out at night. We are usually pretty busy and the breakfast area is rather small but the food is pretty good. I hope you will come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We chose this hotel for it's location near downtown, within walking distance (approx 1mile) to the Blue Plum Festival. We chose a room on the ground floor, very near the office. It was a reasonably clean room with plenty of room for the 2 of us. The desk clerk was very helpful in pointing us in the direction of some very nice restaurants.
Our stay was uneventful, quiet at night etc. There is a free breakfast, but we chose to go elsewhere. No reflection on the offered breakfast, we just like Waffle House! There are some fast food restaurants, drug store & grocery store within walking distance. The pool looked clean and very inviting, but we were too busy with the festival downtown. We would choose to stay here again - good rates, clean rooms, good location, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoadAgain1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The room was clean and the service was good for the entire visit. We were visiting friends in JC and at East Tennessee State University and ths was a very convenient location at a very reasonable price. Most of the other motels are on the north end of JC either on N. Roan or State of Franklin. While they are closer to shopping they are a distance from ETSU and downtown. We also had our dog with us and he was accepted very well at no cost. There were two large groups staying at the same time we were which caused the place to be full, but access to breakfast was not too difficult although the breakfast room is small. I'm partially disabled and can't walk well, but had no difficulty in getting my food. On the whole I recommend this Comfort Inn and will stay there again when we visit JC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ml W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
1.6 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn Johnson City
Quality Inn Johnson City
#12 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Johnson City

Property: Quality Inn Johnson City
Address: 1900 S Roan St, Johnson City, TN 37601-7559 (Formerly Comfort Inn Johnson City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Johnson City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Located near ETSU, Milligan College, Mountain Home VA. Local attractions include Bristol Motor Speedway, Gray Fossil Site, Tipton-Haynes, International Storytelling Center in Jonesborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Johnson City
Johnson City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing