We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Paper thin walls.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2406 North Roan Street, Johnson City, TN 37601-1704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Johnson City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paper thin walls.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The walls are super thin. You will hear everything that happens in the rooms on either side of yours, including dogs that bark all night long (with no staff intervention). If you want to overpay for a poor hotel, crappy breakfast, 2 free beers, and staff who dont give a crap - this is your place. But if you want a decent hotel where you can get a decent night of sleep - go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Refuse to stay in the back section if you are allergic to animals, or do not like to listen to them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summithotel, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Mac,

Thank you for your review. We apologize your stay wasn't anything but Superb. We reserve just three rooms for families with pets, sorry you must have been placed beside one of those rooms. If you would have let us known we could have moved the family with the pet. Sorry you did not enjoy our Managers reception where we serve a variety of beers, sodas, and snacks for all guest to enjoy. We will look into expanding our selection to make it even larger. We hope you chose to stay with us again in the future. Pleas give me a call personally to make your reservation and we promise a better stay.

Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    80
    54
    30
    22
See reviews for
112
72
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was not excited when I pulled into the parking lot, although once I stepped off the elevator and entered the room I was pleased. The room was recently renovated. Very clean, bathroom was huge and bed was comfortable. Very reasonably priced. We had a hard time getting someone to the front desk when we arrived, not sure what was going on.

Room Tip: We were in a inside room, non smoking, third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Abingdon_VA, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and noticed out New Rooms! Please come back and see us soon. I will share this with our entire team.

Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Best Western PLUS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville TN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The decor of the hotel was nice and appeared newly renovated. The individual rooms were LARGE with nice modern decor. The staff provided good service. The breakfast buffet was typical, and kept clean. The price was great!

Trip advisor: 200 character minimum is ridiculous!
It makes me less apt to complete another survey!

Room Tip: I requested a room that was quiet. It was a quiet location, however the doors were loud as they shu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HB2KnoxvilleTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Abingdon_VA, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, It helps us know we are doing a good job. I will be sure to share your review with our entire staff. Im glad you noticed our New Rooms and deluxe hot breakfast. We hope to see you soon!!

Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Best Western PLUS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The room was VERY clean. We had the King Suite with Jacuzzi and loved it. We were impressed with the beds, pillows and everything. You usually cant go on a vacation and expect to get a comfortable bed or pillow. Both were GREAT in this room. The free breakfast was also good. We were impressed. Staff was willing to help when I called in to see about the reservation and in checking. We only had one problem with checking in after we had already checked out. Just when you check out be sure if you have paid cash that they also didn't charge your credit card as well. But even that was taken care of in a few hours. No big deal.

Room Tip: There are pix on the Best Western site. They are totally accurate as to what the room will look like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Of the three full service properties in the immediate area (along with the Doubletree and the Holiday Inn), the BW Plus JC is the best value. This is a former Holiday Inn that has been recently and nicely refurbished and the service is friendly. An unexpected highlight is the very recommendable Rainbow restaurant and lounge on-site which offers a nice bar area and really good Asian cuisine for a very reasonable price. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here for about 2 weeks and everything was great. In addition to a great Asian restaurant attached to the hotel, the staff and cleaning service was extremely friendly and the location is very central. The room was a little cold when I got in but I cranked the heater up and that problem went away. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Johnson city

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmlht1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean here. Lock on door did not work and the shower and bathroom sink kept backing up. Walls are fairly thin because we could hear some doofus outside talking at 11 pm and then again in the morning. Breakfast variety was OK. Cereal dispenser was broken. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Abingdon_VA, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, and are sorry for your inconvenience. We hope you will come back and give us another try. We strive for the highest level of customer satisfaction and your issues will be addressed. Please call me directly for your next booking and we will be sure to make sure your stay is the best it can be.

Sincerely,
Tabitha Quales
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS, Johnson City, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#6 of 20 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2406 North Roan Street, Johnson City, TN 37601-1704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Johnson City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#7 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center offers a host of amenities and is conveniently located near the Bristol Motor Speedway, Eastern Tennessee State University and the Freedom Hall Civic Center. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of activities including hiking, sailing, rafting and golf. The hotel offers Junior suites, Whirlpool suites and Business King suites and all well-appointed guest rooms feature wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Johnson City
Johnson City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing