We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, we would go again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel was just off the highway but we never heard highway noise. The room was spacious with comfortable beds and there was a refrigerator that had a little freezer. Since we were there for the National Storytelling Festival that freezer helped tremendously. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The only drawback was that the breakfast area was so crowded with people going to the festival that the staff could not keep up with the food needed for so many at one time. There just wasn't food available and we couldn't wait so did without. For the next two days we supplied our own food and ate in our room and used the coffee maker that was there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summithotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review. Feedback such as your helps us in delivering exceptional service to all our guests so we greatly appreciate it.. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and were not disturbed by any outside noise.
I'm sorry that you did not get to fully enjoy our breakfast experience. It was a busy time for us but i assure you there was enough food supply.
We would love for you to visit us again on your next Johnson City.
Yours Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 472 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Asheville NC. Check in was quick and the desk staff was friendly and professional. We had a renovated king size room. It was immaculate, quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't bring our dog with us this time, but I noticed several people with their pets exercising in a large grassy area on the hotel property.

You can have dinner at the Asian restaurant attached to the hotel, and there's a good free breakfast offered in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summithotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time out to write us a great review. Our goal is to make each and every stay an enjoyable one and I am glad to hear that your recent stay with us on your way to Asheville,NC achieved that goal. If you ever need anything your need during your stays with us or if you have any suggestion on how to improve your experience please do contact me.
We are a pet friendly property and welcome your pets.
Have a great day!
Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This review to is to share our plans to stay at this hotel at the next opportunity. It is on the shuttle route to the National Storytelling Festival held in October each year. It is a newer hotel so all is up to date and serving well. The price was better than our previous hotel, discounting for multiple nights. My friend who has been there was the kind of upscale customer used to things going well. She was happy. This is our first choice for our next year.

One more thing: when our reservation plans needed to be improved, the hotel found a room for us at the price we first booked. Thanks, Best Western.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summithotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are honored to be your destination of choice on your travels to Johnson City. We are happy to add to your pleasant National Story telling experience. Thank you for noticing all the renovations, We endevour to make every visit a memorable one.
Look forward to having you with us on your next visit!
Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I had ordered a handicap room on line through Hotelplex.A representative placed the order for me on the phone.I was e-mailed a confirmation with explicit details on the request.After a tiring 10 hour drive,they not only had me in a regular room,it took 2 hours to have them check out their supposedly handicap rooms.The hotel does not have raised toilets and they had a sink where the handicap bar should be.They had a plastic contraption on the toilet attached to the seat.Not only did it interfear with my brace,it was the same height as the toilet -no lift-my husband had to hoist me off it. I only wish these hotel people could be handicapped for 1 day and perhaps they would have a better understanding of the situation.With the increase in elderly people with walkers etc. ,if they want business,they better wise up.The refund took 3 days and thank heavens I had brought extra money in case of car trouble.In closing I refer to Best Western as the hotel from Hell and thank God for the Holiday Inn!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 920Christine_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summithotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the troubles you encountered with us. We try to let all our guest know to call us directly to book their rooms rather then go through other 3rd party vendors. This way there is no mix up in the reservation, we have no control what comes through 3rd party channels, nor can we make changes to them. As far as the handicap accomadations, we do have rooms ot meet your requirements as they were just sold out that day. We do sincerely apologize and hope you will give us a chance to redeem your business with us. We meet all ADA requirements.

Sincerely,
Tabatha Quales
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS - Johnson City, TN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I am a travel agent and stayed here for one night during a tour through the Finger Lakes.
Reception was very helpful and professional. They were also very friendly and gave great advice on where to eat for dinner. The only complaint was the bed, it creaked terribly like it was going to fall apart. The breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: check the bed first then enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hags54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summithotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay except for the bed. We have replaced all the mattreses in the hotel during our renovation earlier this year. Im sorry you did not enjoy it. We strive to offer the best in guest satisfaction. We will look into this issue and make sure it is resolved. We hope to see you soon!

Tabatha Quales
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS - Johnson City, TN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Property was in great shape. Rooms were newly remodeled and very clean. I did not hear any of the usual hotel noise. Staff is SUPER!! Nate at the front desk went above and beyond the call of duty to help my family. We recommend that anyone stay at the family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summithotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review, we will share your comments with our entire staff and especially Nate. We hope to see you soon!!

Tabatha Quales
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS - Johnson city, TN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a great surprise experience after being referred to this hotel by another booked up hotel. The room was nice and clean, The free hot breakfast of eggs, sausage, biscuits, waffles, coffee, juice and cereal was delicious. I am an architect and have designed many hotels of different brands and this Best Western Plus surpassed any I have dealt with.

Room Tip: Ours was on 3rd floor but was fine. The elevator access made it no problem. We believe any room woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summithotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Cliff,

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you got a chance to stay with us. Your review will be shared with the enite staff. We look forward to seeing you agin soon.

Tabitha Quales
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS, Johnson City, TN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
309 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
606 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Johnson City
Holiday Inn Johnson City
#10 of 19 in Johnson City
206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City

Address: 2406 N Roan St, Johnson City, TN 37601-1704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Johnson City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#7 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range: $68 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off I-26 in the heart of Johnson City. Come experience true southern hospitality and enjoy our new upscale guest rooms! Each of our guest rooms are appointed with 39-inch flat screen televisions, microwave, refrigerator, free Wi-Fi, and a free hot breakfast. Take some laps in our huge outdoor pool, or burn some calories in our new fitness center. There is also a full-service restaurant and sports lounge on site. Have your next meeting or Banquet with us, we can accommodate up to 200 guests for any type of event. Within a few miles of the hotel, there is the mall, retail stores, 20 restaurants, movie theaters, sports and entertainment venues. Visitors will enjoy taking a day trip to explore one of the nearby cities of Kingsport, Bristol, Elizabethton, or the Historic Tennessee towns of Jonesborough, Abington, VA (Barter Theater) and Asheville, NC. Make a reservation today at the Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center and be treated to a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel & Conference Center Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Johnson City
Johnson City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing