We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food; reservations might be needed”

Bacara's Family Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 17 Restaurants in Jamestown
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Atlanta, Ga
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food; reservations might be needed”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

welcoming, friendly service, accommodating to late arrivals; patient with all our questions, friendly service; filling, and surprising to find in somewhat remote place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    4
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food at this place is amazing. The freshness of everything is unbelieveable. Can't believe this gem is out in such a secluded area. But well worth the drive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Being recently to transplanted to Knoxville my husband and I were out touring around and decided to eat dinner. Googled restauarants in the area and Bacara's came up with good reviews so we drove a few extra miles to try it. We really enjoyed the place. The wait staff was very friendly including the dog laying on the front porch. It has a real old world feel to it. We both had German entrees that were very good. I highly recommend trying them. They do not take credit cards so come prepared with cash or they do take checks. Also, they do no serve alcohol but you can bring your own with a minimal glass charge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Ky
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a great surprise to find such a good restaurant in this out of way place. There were many locals or at least people that the staff appeared to know eating there. This shows that they have returning customers or regulars that know the food is good. Very enjoyable evening at with great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raysea1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This Place is worth the drive.”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a great find in an area with few good eating venues. Excellent food and friendly attentive service. You can take your own wine and they provide glasses. The food is described as 'German' which conjures up images of bratwurst and pickled cabbage. This is so much better and I would highly recommend this restaurant to tourists and locals alike.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotinamerica10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacara's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bacara's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing