We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Hickory Inn
Nearby Hotels
$123
Country Inn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Jackson(Jackson)
$149
$139
Residence Inn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Jackson)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Jackson(Jackson)
$114
$103
Courtyard
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
7
6
10
12
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
10
12
46
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 81 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Absolutely the worst place we've ever stayed in!!!!!!!!!

The entire place smelled musty......sheets were not even washed!! ......towels were stained & gross looking,.....the whole place smelled like smoke everywhere (and this was supposed to be a non-smoking room). When heat was cut on, cigarette smoke odors came blowing out into the room.

The toilet was stopped up ...... the jets did not work in the tub....etc, etc, etc.

My husband & I spent literally only 2 hrs in room and we were so physically nauseated due to the overwhelming stench in the place that we packed and left at 2:30am after checking in at 12:30 am .....

KEY TO NOTE: For those of you reserving online ....
We reserved this room through Exp****; however neither Exp***, nor Old Hickory Inn would make this right & refund our money --- even after sharing in detail with both parties what our experience was before leaving the Hotel. (We were offered another room, but it was clear that the standard(s) of the place were ghetto / to non-existent.

So if the reviews here haven't scared you away .............. know that if you too have a horrible experience w/them, the Mgr of Old Hickory Inn will blow you off just as nonchalantly as Exp****

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Old Hickory Inn in Jackson, TN was built as a Ramada Inn during the 1950's and is built with quality building products, class, and charm. The lobby is gorgeous, especially when decorated for Christmas as was during my stay. The staff as wonderful and the hot continental breakfast was wonderful. I'm perplexed by the poor reviews. I suspect people are used to cheap building materials and shoddy construction. Please ignore them, stay at the Old Hickory, and enjoy the charm!

Room Tip: I enjoy room 101, which is located right next to the entrance, which was wonderful!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajmacdonaldjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight while in Jackson for a college preview tour of Union University. I can understand why Old Hickory Inn was not on the list of recommended hotels. The towels were stained and the room smelled of old dog urine. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLCambron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Friendly front desk clerk, but the staff couldn't be bothered to turn on the ac to cool our room down after a 95 degree day prior to check in. We've had it on full blast for over an hour and can't cool down. Mold growing around the soap holder in the shower. My luggage won't even touch the furniture in here. No elevator that we could find - wish we would've known that before we booked an upstairs room. Large, greasy-looking stains on the top sheet. Mattress pad is a freaking BLANKET. HOT!!! Socks are black, in the room less than an hour. Crappy older tube television and blurry cable. There is no way I would've paid $50 plus fees for this room. Only booked due to $35 sale and still regretting it! Just choke up the extra $$ for one of the much better hotels in the area. Club is on downstairs level. We're sleeping with the arm chair in front of the door tonight!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We found water didn't drain from tub/shower. During the night toilet plugged up from #1. Pillows did not smell clean. Did not want to walk on carpet in bare feet. Everything needs thorough cleaning and maybe rennovation as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews