We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch Stop”
Review of Catfish Cabin

Catfish Cabin
Ranked #23 of 232 Restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
USA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Stop”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a little trouble finding Catfish Cabin, as our GPS took us in circles all around it, but it was worth it. The catfish and the chicken were some of the best we'd ever had. It makes travel so much better when you find such a homey place and have a wonderful meal. The wait staff was especially friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eating with co-workers!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have never been here before and they don't have one near me in Chattanooga but the fish is the best! I liked the location and the speed at which we received our food!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cotagirl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“3.5 Stars, Good for Jackson”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Love the cabin atmosphere -- wood floors and ceiling, squared log walls, old-fashioned lighting. Server was polite, service was well paced. Looked and felt clean. Plenty of parking. Restrooms older but clean.

Hushpuppies were excellent, slightly spiced, golden brown, almost melt in your mouth. Catfish was tasty, 'though a bit overbreaded, and cajun sauce was okay. Crabcake (served in the shell), breaded shrimp, boiled shrimp (unpeeled) all satisfactory. Slaw was rather bland and needed doctoring. Good baked potato, albeit small. Excellent (flat) green beans. Huge iced teas. Price wasn't outrageous, but seemed a bit high for Jackson and for the portion size.

We were seated immediately on a Saturday, mid-afternoon, but if there's a wait, the porch is large, as is the interior waiting area, which contains a long bench and Carl Perkins momentos on the wall. Take out is available (order there or call ahead). Payment is taken at the register in the waiting area.

One star off for skimping: Plates are melamine-like and small, which makes the food overly crowded (upgrade to china would be good). Cups are plastic (glass is preferable, maybe mason jars?). The only utensil given was a fork (in a paper sleeve). Margarine and cajun, tartar, and cocktail sauces came in small, plastic, lidded containers (margarine being prepacked and branded); sour cream was in a squeeze packet (it would be more classy if they were presented in china or stainless). Hushpuppies were served as soon as we were seated, followed by coleslaw right after ordering (perhaps the server should ask first regarding when to serve these... or perhaps it's a ploy to fill you up before the less-than-well-portioned entrees arrive!).

One interesting note: Buttermilk is an option under the drinks category; don't see that everyday!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goseedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite resaurant in Jackson”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Everything on the menu is very good. If you're on a diet, stay away from the hushpuppies. You can't stop eating them.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri USA
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Scrumptious fried catfish, delicious light hushpuppies, 2 choices of slaw.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WayneMcPherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Catfish Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing