We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely Disgusted” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackson Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jackson Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Jackson
Va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Completely Disgusted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2006

My husband and I have stayed in various Comfort Inns in the past and have thoroughly enjoyed our stays. After this last visit, I doubt I will ever stay in another one. I first found a used bar of soap and half a bottle of hotel shampoo in the shower stall. When I mentioned this to the person at the front desk, I was told that sometimes the cleaning crew forgets to throw that stuff away. We went back to our room to get ready for bed. When we pulled the sheets back, we found pubic hair all over the sheets. The only response we received from the front desk was that we could switch rooms - but we would have to go down to the front desk to get the new keys and move ourselves. We were told we were in a non-smoking room but there were ash trays and cigarette ashes in the room. The only recommendation I have for this place is that you bull doze it down!!!

  • Liked — not a darn thing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay here!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mdhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    10
    17
    47
See reviews for
41
13
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

This is an older hotel with indoor corridors & now badged as Comfort Inn. The room was large and clean with standard Comfort Inn furnishings. My only complaint was the extremely noisy air conditioner. Ok, that and not being able to get the front desk on the phone despite numerous and repeated attempts. The hotel was quiet when we were there but one of the elevators was out of service due to exuberant kids at a family reunion the night before.

The breakfast is in a large room and is the best I've ever had at a Comfort Inn. Hot foods include grits and do-it-yourself waffles. I used a roomsavers discount coupon and would stay here again using a coupon but there may be be better rack price alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minivan-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
171 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2006

The room was average no frills, but it had one of the best hot breakfasts we encountered on this trip. Hardboiled eggs, fresh fruit cup, make your own belgium waffles, etc. Good value overall.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2005

Dirty. Bath room fixtures rusty. Vanity top and wash basin stained with some unidentifiable stain. Vanity top pulled away from wall. Mold/mildew in tub and shower. On the plus side, the air conditioner made enough noise to almost drown the noise of other "guests" partying. Priced way too high for value recieved. First time to use Comfort Inns, and sorely disappointed. If this is their best product, I will never consider staying there again. Too many better choices for less money.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
196 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2005

We stayed one night at this location and although the motel has changed brands a few times over the years it was found to be clean with no problems. Free breakfast offered many different options.
Evening desk clerk (April 17) was very friendly and helpful.
Price was several dollars less than the other motels of comparable value in the area so we stayed here .. also for the "choice hotel points" .. we booked online and received triple points.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mao007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2005

We stayed here in Jan.05 Place appeared to be very nice, oh my goodness, we got to our room and after getting ready for bed, we climbed in and after about 10 min. It smelled like urine, it made me sick. I poured perfume on everything to kill the smell, when you travel and check in to a room, the last thing you want to do is keep changing rooms to find the right one, I have stayed in alot of Comfort Inn's and this one smelled the worst. We won't be staying there again ever. A little Febreeze goes along way, why do hotel rooms have to be like that? The maids need to be inspected, or the head maid isn't doing her or his job right. INSPECT!!!!! Also the sliding glass door on 2nd floor did not lock, I felt insafe as well.

Helpful?
8 Thank akpaint59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2004

We had the unfortunate experience of spending one night at the Comfort Inn in Jackson, TN (1963 Hwy. 45 By-Pass). Being from Canada we read the guide from our CAA brochure which listed the Comfort Inn as a two star hotel, clean with basic accommodations. As we were passing through on our way back to Canada this was all we needed for one night. The room was dirty and roach infested. What a night, we had to leave all the lights on. In the morning when leaving I informed the desk clerk that he should have the room be fumigated. He did not appear concerned in the least and suggested I should have called for a room change. My reply was if one room was infested than the others were as well. It is unfortunate we did not discover the problem sooner as we definetly would have change hotels. I will never stay in another Comfort Inn.

Helpful?
8 Thank 113edwardk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Jackson Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2004
Upon receiving this complaint, at time of guest's check out, we immediately went to the room in question and saw NO bugs. As a precaution, we called in the exterminators and requested a special fumigation of that room. This property is absolutely NOT roach infested. (I do not appreciate this customer's assumption on this subject) We have a contract for routine extermination services. In addition, after reviewing this guest's comment , a full refund was given, as we promote "100% Satisfaction Guaranteed". We would have preferred that the problem be reported at the moment of discovery so that an attempt could be made to provide more suitable accommodations and a more urgent response to the complaint could have been made by the management. As a part of Choice Hotels, we are required to pass strict semi-annual inspections and the type of facility described by this traveler would never be allowed to remain a Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jackson
0.3 mi away
AllSuites Hotel Jackson
AllSuites Hotel Jackson
#22 of 28 in Jackson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Jackson
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 28 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#18 of 28 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Jackson Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 1963 Highway 45 Byp, Jackson, TN 38305-2479 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jackson Hotel & Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Microwaves and refrigerators available. Interior corridor and drive-up rooms available. Casey Jones Village adjacent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Jackson Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing