We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pretty Run-down!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jackson Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Jackson
Stanley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty Run-down!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is pretty run-down. Me and the family stopped here on our way out to Oklahoma. It was the first hotel off the interstate and I was tired of driving. When you pull up to it, it is very dimly lit which should of been the first sign it wasn't going to be a good hotel but I have stayed at other Econo Lodges and they were nice so how bad could it be. The guy at the desk was very pleasant and the check it was easy and quick. The hallways were dimly lit also and there were pieces of the wall hanging down and the smell was bad. It was like they sprayed something good to cover up a bad smell but the mixture of the two was awful. The room wasn’t as bad as the rest of the hotel but far from nice. The bathroom was run-down and the door was bigger than the door frame so it would not close no matter how hard you tried. The only good things I can say about this hotel are that I didn’t get mugged or pick up bed bugs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    10
    17
    45
See reviews for
40
13
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gordonsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

What do you expect from a cheap hotel? The toilet seat was an elongated but the toilet was round, so the toilet rim is exposed inside the seat. Otherwise seedy but clean and livable for one night. Upper floors serviced by elevators. Lots of good restaurants across I-40.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wizgidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

First room we had the tv didn't work. Staff was very nice and brought us another tv. THAT tv didn't work either. The staff was very friendly and accomendating and moved us to another room. The second room was very run down. Old and out dated. The caulk in the tub was molded badly, but nothing they couldn't have put some bleach on. The room looked like it hadn't been occupied in a good while as everything was very dusty. They say you pay for what you get but I've paid less and had better so I'm not impressed with this at all. The ONLY good thing is it was in a good location, but again wouldn't recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imamac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It took the ac unit till 3am to cool the room down and just when we got into a good sleep the fire/smoke detector started to emit a sharp sound every minute this started at 5am.the room was relatively clean and bed cofortable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolaTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I actually wrote a review for this Econolodge in 2009 when we stayed over on our way to visit our son in Colorado. We had a good experience then, so I didn't even consider anywhere else when we visited him again last week. The Econolodge is conveniently located off of I40, and the lobby is well lighted, the desk clerks quite friendly. Our room had a king sized bed, pullout couch, refrigerator, microwave, and small coffeemaker. We needed the pullout couch, as we were traveling with our granddaughter, but there were no linens or pillows. We informed the front desk, and they were brought up within half an hour. We would have liked the bathroom to be cleaner, especially the toilet, which was stained and moldy. Likewise, the refrigerator racks were rusted and dirty, and the carpet badly stained. The breakfast area is large with a pretty standard "continental" breakfast served, but we found many of the selections stale - the biscuits, the donuts, the bread for toast. The air conditioning had not been turned on, and with the high temperature that day above 100 degrees, our room was stifling when we arrived at nearly 10:00 p.m. We turned the A/C on high, but it was nearly 6:00 a.m. before it really cooled off in the room (we had to be up at 6:30). My husband actually pulled the bedspread right in front of the A/C and slept on the floor, while I tossed and sweated all night. I complained the next morning that I really didn't see the point in paying for a place to sleep if we couldn't sleep. I am not a wasteful person, but when the temperature is that high, the rooms that have been reserved really should have the A/C turned on by 6:00 to allow the room to cool enough for people to sleep. It's an Econolodge, and I don't expect the Ritz, but there are a number of places on the same exit and in the vicinity that advertise comparable prices, and if we choose to visit our son again, we will choose one of them. We would rather stay where it is cleaner and in a better state of upkeep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingfromDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This motel had dirty rooms, period. The in-room refrigerator and microwave had sticky smudge all over, the bathroom had previous guests hair all around. No screen on the patio door, which by the way had a view of the swimming pool which was out of order and half empty with fetid water. Could be a fun place to stay while traveling, but needs to be cleaned up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcatgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Choice better get their name off of the front of this building before properties like this ruin their reputation.I was so appalled when we pulled into the motel after booking online and seen that the pictures were not representative of the motel at all. The clerk at the front desk was a man that had not shaved in three or four days,all the lights were turned out in the lobby that were not being used ( wasn't very inviting ), the landscaping had weeds growing in the flower beds, the pool had no water except for a little sludge in the bottom, the smell inside the building was indescribable and there are no words in the million plus english language for the room. Needless to say I checked out and went across the street to Quality Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RexDessieJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.8 mi away
Knights Inn Jackson
Knights Inn Jackson
#17 of 28 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jackson
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jackson
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Jackson
Quality Inn Jackson
#15 of 28 in Jackson
3.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Jackson Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 1963 Highway 45 Byp, Jackson, TN 38305-2479 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jackson Hotel & Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Microwaves and refrigerators available. Interior corridor and drive-up rooms available. Casey Jones Village adjacent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Jackson Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing