We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Place To Eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cracker Barrel Old Country Store

Cracker Barrel Old Country Store
Ranked #40 of 221 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Union City, TN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Good Place To Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Cracker Barrell has a down home feeling and always very good service. My favorite meal is Momma's Pancake Breakfast (add a biscuit - usually at no extra charge). The meal includes two eggs anyway you want them and either two sausage patties or two strips of bacon (large strips). My wife and I will eat here again, probably the next time we are in Jackson. Try it. You won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    48
    12
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food for the buck.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A little bit of everything for everybody. One thing for sure is that if you don't find something that you like then you are not hungry

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karenstweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bad Service and even worse food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have visited this Cracker Barrel location over 50 times and I have watched it degrade with each passing year.
The portion sizes today are an absolute joke.
The service is very rushed, causing most of the servers to be aggitated and rude.
They will usually mess up your order because the noise level is outrageous.
And, the inflated prices are not worth it.

Simply put - Unless you want to be disappointed and leave hungry, don't go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cracker Barrell Old Country Store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

The menu has a excellent breakfast selection as well as the lunch and dinner. The service is generally fast and service is most of the time friendly and attentive to the customers. I like the rainbow trout which I often eat, with rice pilah and country style green beans. The trout has 2 generous portions and is very tasty.The portions of foods are plentiful and worth the money. I also like the macaroni and cheese , very creamy and done perfect.The breakfast has a varied selection and is very filling. The checkout in the front is quick and the general store has a good variety , I like the holiday assortment .Worth the time and money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chicken and dumplings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I love their chicken and dumpling's and apple dumpling with ice cream for dessert. I have always enjoyed the atmosphere in this store and the friendly and warm staff. Great place out front to relax and play checkers while you wait to be seated.
As a family we have been to the one in Jackson, TN and the one in Pigeon Forge, TN both have wonderful food and staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 19Pat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel Old Country Store also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel Old Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing