We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't leave hungry”

Brooks Shaw's Old Country Store
Ranked #6 of 221 Restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“You won't leave hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The buffet had a lot to choose from which is always a plus in my book. The staff was very nice and attentive. I will definitely eat here again next time I'm in Jackson. This is a great place for those who like home style cooking. Soul food at its best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    108
    39
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best southern food I've ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The buffet had plenty of yummy goodness. The staff was outstanding and friendly. The southern people will go out of their way to please you and make you feel at home. I will definately go back to the south. The southern people know what true hospitality is. I recomend this place to those who like homeade southern cooking. Ya'll come see what you're missing out on!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taz69yyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

its a family style restaurant. country cooking. buffet style. lots of food. they actually make crackling cornbread like my mamaw used to do. they make it right in front of you. I was def stuffed when we left. price not too bad. the store was fun to shop in too. nice place to visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank littlerockertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumas, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great buffet southern food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

A place we have on our must stop list ever summer on our way to Tenn.
Great food just be prepared to stand in line for the catfish. They go in a hurry
The cornbread is awesome with a bowl of beans or greens they could almost
Leave me there and pick me up on way back. Fried chicken is great also,
In fact don't think I have ever had a bad meal and we have eaten quite a few.
Can get busy at times but if you leave you have missed one of the finest dining
experiences of your life.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

good food, atmosphere, and just a general good time. Be sure and go to the Providence house when you visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank karenstweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooks Shaw's Old Country Store also viewed

 

Been to Brooks Shaw's Old Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing