We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELISH!!!!”

Brooks Shaw's Old Country Store
Ranked #6 of 224 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Takeout
Decatur, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DELISH!!!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family always makes a point of visiting when we are in Jackson, the buffet is wonderful! There is a good assortment of foods to choose from. Good ole fashion southern cooking!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    112
    41
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Humboldt, TN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Buffet”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good food, lots of choices and plenty of it. Definitely plan on stopping in when traveling through Jackson.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyVader_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Tennessee
Level Contributor
190 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food - bad smell”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The food was great as usual but we were seated in the back of the restaurant behind the area where drinks are prepared. The spot smelled strongly of spoiled milk. We were with other people who were already seated before we arrived. I would have asked to be moved but they already had drinks when we got there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I've been to a Barnhills that was much better”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere was good however, the food was just ok. A limited selection for a buffet, especially for the price. Finally, they offer a 20% military discount and the cashier did not look at my ID or give me the discount after I produced my ID. Ultimately very disappointed. We will not re visit and we certainly do not recommend this establishment.

Helpful?
Thank Jollygunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The old gray mare ain't what she used to be...”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I remember when this place was THE place to go and be seen and it was out on Airways.
The last two times at this establishment were very disappointing. The floors are filthy, the tables are not being kept clean and the food is not good. The place is down right Nasty. Sadly, we will not return here anymore but will take our dollars elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tnearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooks Shaw's Old Country Store also viewed

 

Been to Brooks Shaw's Old Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing