We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matroosfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We booked this hotel because we had rented our car for the Garden Route from the airport and had an early morning flight the day the car was to go back. This 'eco friendly" hotel surpassed our expectations. The room was quiet and very well appointed: comfortable bed and interesting open concept bathroom. The only problem we encountered was that the morning breakfast was not fully up and running when they opened; even coffee wasn't available! The restaurant seemed to be understaffed with the few people present still running around trying to set up when we left. For a hotel located at the airport, they should have been more prepared.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Good Day Mr TorontoMac,

Thank you for giving us feedback on our hotel. We agreed that for breakfast, timing is crucial and sets the tone for the rest of your day.
Starting at 04h30 is a promise we make and a promise we intend to honour. I will speak to the Food & Beverage department and investigate why breakfast was not set out timeously.

Kind Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    215
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
133
351
69
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night in each of Dec 13 and Jan 14 on our way into and out of South Africa.
Although Hotel Verde Cape Town has only been opened for a few months, the hotel already has some character. It is a bright, clean and airy hotel, with a number of eco-friendly initiatives. Both the rooms we stayed in were quite large with king size and extremely comfortable beds. Both had a walk in type shower. Breakfasts were excellent with loads of options to suit the tastes of all nationalities. In addition, we ate in the restaurant on 1 of the 2 nights we stayed. The meal was really good and service prompt and efficient. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout.
The only hiccup we had was a mix up with the shuttle bus on 1 night. Despite booking a pick-up once we'd dropped our hire car off, the shuttle didn't arrive. However, the airport Information desk kindly rang the hotel and the shuttle eventually turned up 45 minutes late.
The hotel is an excellent option for travellers either arriving late at night or departing early in the morning and we'll definitely stay again in either circumstance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Good Day,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Verde. Our staff follow Tripadvisor closely and are so proud when their great service is mentioned.
We are strongly looking into our shuttle service and how we can better service not only our guests, but all guests arriving at Cape Town International by working with the Airport Company. We have much work to do but please be assured it is our top priority.

Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Perfect stay close to the airport! Big rooms and great breakfast. We could have spent more time and tried all the facilities. Only negative it was a bit hard to find by car. Newly built and furnished with nice arts. Really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ylvaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Good Day Ylvaha,

Thank you for your review on your hotel. We had an experienced Art Consultant, and built a great collection focusing on South Africa talent.

Unfortunately we have as many signs as the municipality has granted at present but we will continue to work on this challenge our guests are experiencing.

Please come back again and try all the facilities!

Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My daughter raved about this new green hotel. So whilst in Cape Town last week we visited Verde.
No directions and we got lost. You can see this idiotic hotel from everywhere.Finally we arrived and more silly admin problems.
However the Front desk staff were super. And behold the rooms were fantastic. Servise was excellent.
The front desk supervisor took us on a tour of this great Green Hotel that makes energy from the wind, the sun and even from gym machines.Rain water is collected and used on site.
Even the bathroom water is recycled to flush the toilets.Super.Orchids everwher and it has its own featured vertical garden wall inside the bar.How cool
The eco pool was the highlight with the running track going through the hotel wetlands.
Breakfast with its own garden vegetables and health juices was outstanding.Free airport transfer with excited staff was a feather on this hotel'
Will come back soon.

Room Tip: Any one. The executive is for a few days stay,but the deluxe is great for overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athlone45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Good Day Athlone45,

We are pleased that you were impressed with our offerings and that we could further wow you with all our green ingenuities. Our staff are passionate about the hotel, and we will be sure to keep this up.

As for our lack of signage, we do apologies and have since added directions onto our website. http://hotelverde.com/wp-content/uploads/Directions-to-Hotel-Verde.pdf

We appreciate all feedback form our guests, as it helps us better serve those guests after you. We to see you again soon.

Green Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Ten green points to the Hotel Verde team for thinking of and implementing so many green details in this brand new building. Loved that you can pump out green energy in their gym, that they recycle everything and used concrete saver bricks in the construction. Loved especially that the very friendly staff have been trained into green thinking - and that you can earn your own points or 'verdinos' by taking a leaf out of their book - reuse towels, go easy on the aircon and rack up energy on the cycle machines. Nice. Esp nice green graffiti art in the basement car park!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NancyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi NancyCapeTown,

Lovely to receive some recognition from locals! We really believe in what we are doing and our passion for sustainability shows! Please come visit us again very soon.

Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Exellent beautiful and spacious room, great shower and bed, very complete breakfast, nice gym, very close to the airport and convinient for who has a lay over/conexion flight.
Efficient staff.
The only thing was under expectation was the lack of a free transfer to the airport, which is very close by, like many other hotels offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Ms iana_abreu,

Thank you for your feedback on our facilities and great staff. They check Tripadvisor regularly and will be proud.

We do in fact offer a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport between 04h00-00h00: http://hotelverde.com/hotel-shuttle.

I offer my apologies that this service was not efficiently communicated to you.
Please be sure to request a transfer on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Staff friendly and welcoming. Appreciated free airport transfer and wi-fi. A few minor issues, I spoke up and staff kindly resolved. A proper hotel and loved that new smell. Shame no free transfer to CBD but no matter, hotel organised reasonable and safe option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Good Day Pacia2013,

You are absolutely right, we need to offer a complimentary shuttle to the City Centre twice daily to cater to the travellers that wish to explore our beautiful city.

And, it is a service that we offer! A shuttle goes twice a daily to the V&A Waterfront. I will have a chat to the all front of house staff and ensure that they are all aware of this, to correctly help our guests.

The shuttle departs at 10:00 in the morning and then again at 18:00. These times are seasonally and subject to change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matroosfontein
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,243 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,816 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport

Property: Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
Address: 15 Michigan Street | Airport Industria, Matroosfontein 7490, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Matroosfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matroosfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Verde showcases some of the most advanced, environmentally conscious technological installations, construction methods, procurement and operational practices in the world. Recognised by World Responsible Tourism as Best City Hotel 2014 and awarded platinum status by LEED, we are proudly and confidently Africa's Greenest Hotel. All stays and conferencing are carbon neutral due to offsetting. Guests receive a certificate of Carbon offset. In keeping with the green philosophy, everything we do and everything we offer is about sustainability and protecting our environment - plasma screens throughout the hotel speak our green language encouraging our guests to follow suit and take what you learn or experience home with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing