We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matroosfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Our lovely stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile


We wish to extend our sincere compliments to Hotel Verde for really making our stay a wonderful experience. We stayed there for 2 nights (29, 30 November 2013) and we can unequivocally say that this is a 4star establishment with 5star service! The rooms are spacious and highly comfortable, the dining is superb - they absolutely have something for every taste bud, even people with vegan lifestyles! But really, the best part is the amazingly friendly staff - from the porter, house-keeping, front-desk etc - really friendly and oh so helpful! We shall be back and we definitely highly recommend this establishment to anybody who would like to be pampered and have value for their money!

Mr. And Mrs. Leukes

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your heartfelt compliments, support and recommendations. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay and dining experience with us.

I will pass on your words to all the staff. We look forward to hosting you and your wife again soon.

Please look out for us on Facebook and Twitter to see our latest developments and specials.

Kind regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    214
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
132
348
69
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is only about 4 months in operation, but all the teething problems have been sorted out successfully and it now provides an excellent stay. It is bright and very modern with some of the most advanced energy saving and eco friendly systems in place. When arriving Cape Town late at night, there is probably no better place to stay since this hotel is just a few hundred meters away from the terminal building and comes at an affordable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RapTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Kabols,

Thank you for your recommendation. We have been so fortunate with the amount of support and recommendations we have received.
Correct, we are a very new hotel and we hope to do things differently – the right way and the green way.

We are an ideal hotel to be your very first stop in Cape Town after a long flight, and why not enjoy your entire stay; Cape Town Central is only a 15 minute drive away.

We are glad your enjoyed your stay and our green initiatives and please come visit us again the next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference, but is best suited for people in transit through cape town airport. The staff are enthusiastic and proud to work for the Hotel. The environmental features are impressive, including wind turbines, sole PV, geothermal heating, worm farm for composting, among others. The restaurant serves quality food. A novelty is that hotel residents can earn the hotel's internal currency for performing various green deeds. The currency can be cashed in at the bar or donated to charity.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GarethKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear GarethKZN,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Verde. We are glad we could impress you in our green features, food and rooms.

Our conferencing facilities are extensive with an added feature of aiding delegates to minimise their carbon footprint. Initiatives include; encouraging the use of white boards over flipcharts and offering pencils instead of pens. Our hotel owner, Mr Delicio is passionate about sustainable ensuring every last detail was meticulously planned.

We hope you come visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

It was an unexpected delight to stay here. The hotel and its staff were delightful. The room was clean and welcoming, attention to detail was spot on.

We were met at the Airport and everyone was very helpful.

Very impressive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumbleweed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Grumbleweed,

Glad we could of excellent service to you. “Unexpected delight” is feedback we often get from guests and we could not be more proud. We are more than just an airport hotel :)
Thank you for your kind words and we will be sure pass on the compliments to our housekeeping and front of house staff.

Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel opened in August. It is in an unlikely place, on the edge of an industrial zone round Cape Town International Airport. Yet is belies comparison with any other airport hotel I have ever used. Under the white canopy over the entrance, there is the swoosh-swoosh of the three wind turbines along the fence to welcome you. Inside, great open spaces. The lobby flows into a pleasant lounge and, off to one side, a great bar. They both flow through to an airy dining room, with fresh fresh food and a really great ambience. I ran a conference there - our meeting room was Just Right, and my international visitors were overjoyed to find every conceivable electrical plug right there, built into the conference table, so no-one needed an adapter.

My delegates reported the rooms were really good. What particularly impressed them was the points you could win by not adjusting the temperature, or not insisting on clean towels every day, or - - . Amass enough points, and there was a free drink waiting for you in the bar.

The rooms were really quiet; they were spotlessly clean; the temperature was spot on and the air always fresh; and the service was prompt and friendly. The fact that it was really good value just added to the overall happiness. And as a final bonus, the

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Nutty-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelVerde, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear A-Nutty-Prof,

While we do find ourselves in an unlikely yet convenient area, many guests like yourself are pleasantly surprised to find a “diamond in the rough”.
We are pleased we could impress and meet your delegates’ needs of business and international travellers combined. And as an additional, offering the added green benefits and incentive initiatives. I hope some of your delegates managed to amass and redeem some Verdinos!
We hope we will host you and your group again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Now I have to admit we booked this hotel so we could get a change and a shower before we took our midnight flight. It was selected for proximity to the airport and the fact that it was not expensive.

Within 5 minutes of arriving we were seriously impressed. Here's a list of unexpected bonus experiences: Very friendly and helpful staff in reception (even when we told them we were only staying a few hours): Amazingly the hotel vehicle drove in front of us to car hire return, picked us up, drove us back to the hotel and a few hours later back to the airport. All part of the service: The rooms (suite) was huge, modern very well equipped and serviced.

Having missed our share of flights resuting in enforced stays in airport hotels we were both very, very impressed. Had this hotel been located anywhere else it would really be the hotel of choice.

We will certainly be staying here on our next arrival in Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelVerde, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear David,

Our location in close proximity to Cape Town International Airport, is not only a business opportunity to us but also a challenge to ensure every guest meets their flights and their travel experiences and itineraries are made more pleasant by their stay at Hotel Verde.

I think we exceed our guests’ expectations as an “airport hotel” and will strive to continue to do so.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you at Hotel Verde again soon.

Kind Regards,
Roxanne Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I needed a hotel close to the airport. its not a romantic hotel but it really surprised us at how well run and friendly it was. It is really a nice hotel and I will happily be staying there for business trips in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelVerde, General Manager at Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Russel K

Thank you for your kind words and review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel Verde is definitely a unique hotel and we aim to provide a great product with outstanding service. The hotel is ideally located for leisure and business travellers and we look forward to seeing you when next in Cape Town.

Kind Regards,
Samantha Annandale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matroosfontein
0.3 mi away
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
8.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
4.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cape Town Marriott Hotel Crystal Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport

Property: Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
Address: 15 Michigan Street | Airport Industria, Matroosfontein 7490, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Matroosfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matroosfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Verde showcases some of the most advanced, environmentally conscious technological installations, construction methods, procurement and operational practices in the world. Recognised by World Responsible Tourism as Best City Hotel 2014 and awarded platinum status by LEED, we are proudly and confidently Africa's Greenest Hotel. All stays and conferencing are carbon neutral due to offsetting. Guests receive a certificate of Carbon offset. In keeping with the green philosophy, everything we do and everything we offer is about sustainability and protecting our environment - plasma screens throughout the hotel speak our green language encouraging our guests to follow suit and take what you learn or experience home with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing