We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveler rating
665
270
30
16
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
270
30
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportairport hotelcape town airporteco friendly hotelgrey wateran early morning flightoutdoor gymshuttle servicecpt airportlong flightnext morninginternational airportfree shuttleeco poolan overnight staylate arrivalgreen credentials
Filter
Updating list...
785 - 790 of 988 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here for a conference, but is best suited for people in transit through cape town airport. The staff are enthusiastic and proud to work for the Hotel. The environmental features are impressive, including wind turbines, sole PV, geothermal heating, worm farm for composting, among others. The restaurant serves quality food. A novelty is that hotel residents can earn the hotel's internal currency for performing various green deeds. The currency can be cashed in at the bar or donated to charity.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank GarethKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear GarethKZN,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Verde. We are glad we could impress you in our green features, food and rooms.

Our conferencing facilities are extensive with an added feature of aiding delegates to minimise their carbon footprint. Initiatives include; encouraging the use of white boards over flipcharts and offering pencils instead of pens. Our hotel owner, Mr Delicio is passionate about sustainable ensuring every last detail was meticulously planned.

We hope you come visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Roxanne Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

It was an unexpected delight to stay here. The hotel and its staff were delightful. The room was clean and welcoming, attention to detail was spot on.

We were met at the Airport and everyone was very helpful.

Very impressive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumbleweed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVMarketing C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Grumbleweed,

Glad we could of excellent service to you. “Unexpected delight” is feedback we often get from guests and we could not be more proud. We are more than just an airport hotel :)
Thank you for your kind words and we will be sure pass on the compliments to our housekeeping and front of house staff.

Regards,
Roxanne Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel opened in August. It is in an unlikely place, on the edge of an industrial zone round Cape Town International Airport. Yet is belies comparison with any other airport hotel I have ever used. Under the white canopy over the entrance, there is the swoosh-swoosh of the three wind turbines along the fence to welcome you. Inside, great open spaces. The lobby flows into a pleasant lounge and, off to one side, a great bar. They both flow through to an airy dining room, with fresh fresh food and a really great ambience. I ran a conference there - our meeting room was Just Right, and my international visitors were overjoyed to find every conceivable electrical plug right there, built into the conference table, so no-one needed an adapter.

My delegates reported the rooms were really good. What particularly impressed them was the points you could win by not adjusting the temperature, or not insisting on clean towels every day, or - - . Amass enough points, and there was a free drink waiting for you in the bar.

The rooms were really quiet; they were spotlessly clean; the temperature was spot on and the air always fresh; and the service was prompt and friendly. The fact that it was really good value just added to the overall happiness. And as a final bonus, the

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-Nutty-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelVerde, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear A-Nutty-Prof,

While we do find ourselves in an unlikely yet convenient area, many guests like yourself are pleasantly surprised to find a “diamond in the rough”.
We are pleased we could impress and meet your delegates’ needs of business and international travellers combined. And as an additional, offering the added green benefits and incentive initiatives. I hope some of your delegates managed to amass and redeem some Verdinos!
We hope we will host you and your group again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Roxanne Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Now I have to admit we booked this hotel so we could get a change and a shower before we took our midnight flight. It was selected for proximity to the airport and the fact that it was not expensive.

Within 5 minutes of arriving we were seriously impressed. Here's a list of unexpected bonus experiences: Very friendly and helpful staff in reception (even when we told them we were only staying a few hours): Amazingly the hotel vehicle drove in front of us to car hire return, picked us up, drove us back to the hotel and a few hours later back to the airport. All part of the service: The rooms (suite) was huge, modern very well equipped and serviced.

Having missed our share of flights resuting in enforced stays in airport hotels we were both very, very impressed. Had this hotel been located anywhere else it would really be the hotel of choice.

We will certainly be staying here on our next arrival in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelVerde, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verde, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear David,

Our location in close proximity to Cape Town International Airport, is not only a business opportunity to us but also a challenge to ensure every guest meets their flights and their travel experiences and itineraries are made more pleasant by their stay at Hotel Verde.

I think we exceed our guests’ expectations as an “airport hotel” and will strive to continue to do so.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you at Hotel Verde again soon.

Kind Regards,
Roxanne Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I needed a hotel close to the airport. its not a romantic hotel but it really surprised us at how well run and friendly it was. It is really a nice hotel and I will happily be staying there for business trips in future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelVerde, General Manager at Hotel Verde, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Russel K

Thank you for your kind words and review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel Verde is definitely a unique hotel and we aim to provide a great product with outstanding service. The hotel is ideally located for leisure and business travellers and we look forward to seeing you when next in Cape Town.

Kind Regards,
Samantha Annandale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews