We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No swimming at the "Camper's Beach"????”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermitage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nashville Shores RV Resort & Campground
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently stayed at Nashville Shores for the second time. Last time, we had enjoyed the nice view of the lake but were very disappointed that the "camper's beach" was disgustingly dirty. We went back hoping that they had cleaned it up. There is no pool here. You would have to pay to use the waterpark or the treetop adventure. On their map they have a "camper's beach", so we went to check it out. On the map they show a lovely beach with chairs, etc. When you get to the beach on the lake, there are signs saying "No swimming". Are they kidding? Why not "swim at your own risk"? We assumed looking at the map that we could swim there. There is a marina where you can rent boats and waverunners. So you can look at the lake but you can't get in it without paying extra. Very annoying. It feels like a money pit staying there.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank fmmudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NashvilleShores, Manager at Nashville Shores RV Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Thanks for staying at Nashville Shores and for your comments. We are located on a lake, so, sometimes we are at the mercy of Mother Nature. We experienced flooding of the camper's beach, and we closed it temporarily for safety reasons. Thanks again for your comments and candor,and we hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed June 22-June 26th, 2014. Cabins are not "Luxury" at all! Bathrooms are sooo small you can barely use the toilet (wedged in a corner) & the shower stall (no tub) is so tiny that you literally have to stand perfectly still under the water to take a shower. The loft upstairs had 2 twin beds, but you had to "crawl" to get into them. (No headroom!) The location was pretty, but the only view we had was of the marina. You have to park across the driveway from the cabin & lug your stuff up & down a hill, so it's not a good place for anyone with physical limitations. The kids loved the waterpark, which had alot of fun stuff & the most highly trained lifeguards I've ever witnessed. (We actually joked with other guests that we thought they were robots--haha because they NEVER took their eyes off the water & did a head bobbing ritual that was impressive--checking each area of the pool after so many seconds). Our 15 year old daughter wanted to ride the banana raft which is pulled out into the lake by a jet ski. After watching several groups go in and come out, we decided to put up the $60 for our family to ride- My husband & I & our 15,13,10 & 6 year old kids. Before we went out, I noticed that the boat was deflating. The driver (who was about 16-17) said he knew but that it was ok for one more ride, and we were his last riders for the day. I should have insisted that he put air in in--because after a few minutes into the ride (which we were all hanging on for dear life the entire time), we were all thrown violently into the middle of the lake! It was terrifying & painful! The kids were all crying and we all had soreness and bruising for days afterwards. I should have asked for our money back, but the poor kid running the ride looked as scared as the rest of us, so I actually felt sorry for him. Overall it was a fun trip, but for the money I think they could upgrade the cabins to make them more comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamamaBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a review of the lakeside cabins only as we did not use the waterpark nor any of the other offerings of Nashville Shores, unless you count walking the grounds one day and playing a round of shuffleboard.

The little cluster of buildings at the bottom of the hill across from the treetops course is where you check in. It is not clearly marked as such. Check-in was easy enough, but there is something about being told immediately "here are THE RULES for your stay," rather than being welcomed that is off-putting. There seems to be a tad inordinate amount of focus on what guests might try to get away with versus how the guests are taken care of for their money.

For what they are charging, it just isn’t enough to say “lakefront cabins.” Yes, the cabins (as a group) are located “lake-front.” But, each cabin is a duplex with the option of unlocking the interconnecting door. So, right off the bat, know that renting a "cabin" means renting 1/2 of a structure with a shared covered deck for a porch. Adjacent duplexes are perhaps 50 feet max from yours. Only cabins 1 through 6 truly have views of the lake. Numbers 7 and 8 almost qualify, but they are situated looking directly at Percy Priest Dam. All of the higher cabin numbers view nothing but a cove filled to the brim with docked boats at the marina. Cabins 1 and 2 are immediately adjacent to the back side of the wave pool/lazy river and more importantly the tanks and pumping facility for those attractions. So the "sweet spot" for the cabins is definitely numbers 3 through 6.

The cabins are not rustic, but they certainly are not luxurious either. I didn't see any marketing mentioned in other reviews that said they were luxurious. The view is VERY nice and that is mostly what earns a "tick above average" rating. When reserving I was told that the cabins were "re-built" from those that were in place in the 70's. Uh, no, they just refurbished what was there. Anyone rebuilding from the ground up (or just performing a true remodel) would have maximized the view. In these cabins, on the view side, the bottoms of the windows are 4 feet above the floor, with the couch backed up to them and facing into the cabin, not an up to date layout at all. You cannot sit INSIDE the cabin and see the view. There are non-functioning fireplaces with stone hearths that take up quite a bit of floor space and limit the arrangement of furniture. The kitchen is small, but there is a 4 burner (compact) stove and a full size fridge with freezer (no ice maker and no ice trays). You will be asked to report the inventory (within an hour of arrival, according to the rules) of your cabin’s EXTREMELY WELL USED, mismatched melmac place settings and plastic cups, etc. so as not to be charged for something you didn't steal. (Feeling welcomed yet?) The bedroom is adequate BUT there is no ceiling fan and the hotel room style a/c unit in the main room doesn't "reach" into the bedroom. At least the window is operable. The bed seems small to be the advertised queen, but it is comfortable. The loft has its own window style a/c unit. The "stairs" are not scary necessarily, but they are steep and they are open riser. I can see parents of younger kids thinking twice. The bathroom is the worst feature... WAY TOO SMALL. Pedestal sink ( because there isn't room for even the smallest vanity ), 2 foot- 6 inch x 2 foot- 6 inch shower, toilet crammed between the shower and the wall in a space no more than 2 feet wide. I am, 5 foot, 10 inches tall and weigh 230 lbs and my shoulders touched both walls while seated.

The decks and handrails are constructed of treated wood with high handrails so expect your view of the lake to be somewhat obscured even outside if seated on the deck. For “lake-front” it really is more difficult to see THE LAKE than you would think. There is a large lawn space between the cabins and the water, which makes for a good game playing area. As with most Tennessee lakes, the geese do leave plenty of droppings. It's not overwhelming, but definitely present. It isn't the best shoreline for it, anyway, but I can see the "No swimming permitted this area" signs irritating folks. I'm sure it’s a liability issue, but it smacks of "we want you to pay to go to the water-park, why would we “let you” swim for "free" in the lake?" There is no separate pool for cabin guests.

All in all the stay is underwhelming, especially for the price. They get credit for having more spacious than usual accommodations in a more attractive but still very convenient setting. But the bad points (especially the bathroom) REALLY detract from the overall experience. I would recommend this stay for families used to camping together, but not really too many others.

Room Tip: Cabins 3, 4, 5, 6 have best views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Campground sites are so tight most don't have room to put a single chair next to firepit. If your RV has a slide out, it will almost definitely hang over the next site's picnic table. Water park doesn't sell any ice tea. No diabetic drinks whatsoever! No gluten free items except for salad. Make sure to use coupon book as retail employees will not ask. They have all they can do to speak and smile.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timeitright57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I am really flummoxed by the outrageously good reviews. In my opinion, this was one of the worst stays in my RVing history, and that includes a 7 month trip to see every state and national park west of the Mississippi in 2011 where we stayed at dozens of places from luxury RV resorts to BLM campgrounds with zero amenities. After thinking this through, I came to what I believe is the reason for our crummy stay – our spot. We shelled out a pretty penny for a lake front site and got put at site 46. Here is the list of negatives: 1 ) with my slide out deployed, it overhung a neighbor’s picnic table 2) on the other side, my picnic table pad was (I kid you not) 3 feet from the neighbor’s sewer connection 3) our fire ring was directly behind our neighbor’s rig and not 8 feet from their bedroom window. Bottom line, we were wedged in there like slices of bread in a loaf. To be fair, the grounds were clean and quiet, the bathhouse was clean, and the staff was friendly. But to pay the amount we paid to smell the neighbor’s septic tank while eating dinner and hear them snoring while sitting by the fire was kind of crazy. And unfortunately bad traffic on the way in and a hectic appointment did not allow us to find another site. Next time we’re in Nashville, we’ll stay a little further out at one of the COE campgrounds on the lake and get a little elbow room.

Room Tip: DRIVE THE CAMPGROUND and don't settle for the site you are given. If you've paid for lakefr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MidLifeCrisisGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NashvilleShores, Owner at Nashville Shores RV Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for your review of Nashville Shores. Thank you for the kind words concerning the cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff. We are sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay because of your site. If you visit us again, we will work to put you in a site that is more accommodating and will hopefully make your stay more enjoyable. Thanks again for your comments, and we hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Attempted to make a reservation with three phone calls over a period of two days. Answering machine requests name and phone number and they will return call. They lie, They do not return your call no matter how many messages you leave. This should tell you something about their business practices. We stayed elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NashvilleShores, Public Relations Manager at Nashville Shores RV Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

We are truly sorry that you had difficulty reaching our reservation department, and you did not receive a prompt response. I am unsure why you may not have received a response. You should receive a response within 24 hours, but, typically, this is much sooner. We again apologize and hope you will consider staying with us in the future. If you have any other issues or questions, please email info@nashvilleshores.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here for labor day weekend. It is so spotless & well laid out. Great amenities. Everyone was so friendly. Bath houses were air conditioned & had individual stalls with doors you lock with your own toilet & sink plus shower. We had a great view of the lake from our spot. Nashville Shores waterpark was a blast! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannyboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NashvilleShores, Public Relations Manager at Nashville Shores RV Resort & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us at Nashville Shores. We hope you will come back and join us again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nashville Shores RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Shores RV Resort & Campground

Address: 4001 Bell Rd, Hermitage, TN 37076-2951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Hermitage
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hermitage
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville Shores RV Campground and Lakeside Cabins are located on beautiful, 14,000-acre Percy Priest Lake just 10 miles from downtown Nashville.The RV campground includes full hookups with sewer and electric (20, 30 and 50 amp), cable and Wi-Fi, two playgrounds, an arcade, a dog park, a totally refurbished bathhouse and laundry, shuffleboard, basketball, Frisbee golf, and other great amenities. The 20 lakeside cabins are perfect for a family looking to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life or a couple looking for a romantic retreat. Each cabin comes fully-equipped with a modern kitchen, state-of-the-art amenities and gorgeous lake views.A Nashville Shores cabin features air conditioning, leather furniture, Vizio flat screen TV, Whirlpool and Frigidaire appliances, Serta mattresses and more top of the line features. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing