We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something For Everyone”
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #59 of 91 Restaurants in Hermitage
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
256 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
“Something For Everyone”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a birthday lunch for my husband here. We have eaten here many many times before and it was as good as usual. We always are at the door at 11 am when they open to get the freshest food and to get in before they get crowded.

They will make a fuss over your birthday if you tell your server and will announce your birthday over the intercom. They are also very caring people. I have Chrohn's disease and was sick once shortly after arrival and they actually let my husband collect all the food I wanted and they packaged it up for us and put it in a bag for me to take home. The servers are very friendly and attentive.

The place is always clean and the restrooms are clean and well-stocked. There is a huge variety of fresh food and more being brought out all the time. The salad area has a variety of greens, veggies, and fruits plus your choice of many toppings and extras. There are meats, veggies, casseroles, pizza, sides, breads, and rolls. The dessert area is amazing with cakes, pies, desserts, puddings, chocolate covered fruit, ice cream, sherbert, and much more. There is something for everyone. Seating is comfortable and plentiful. Lots of free and convenient parking and is easy to get in and out of (traffic light). Lots of shopping very closeby.

I have only one complaint. They used to play cool jazz here which was classy and soothing. Now they play hick music, horrible redneck, hillbilly country music. Wish they offered earplugs! They really need to play something neutral or nothing at all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank terril435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    17
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central City, Kentucky
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good variety and close to our hotel”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed a the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Nashville Airport East and Golden Corral was about 2 miles away and we were hungry. For the money it was great!!!!!! Really good salad bar and the chocolate fountain was good too. The waiter was really really nice! If you are any where close and want to eat good we would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop
Level Contributor
273 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“lunch stop while traveling”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

stopped because of visits to the chain before. We were disappointed not clean, service slow, many different choices of food and desserts. food was okay

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toys4dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Roaches on Salad Bar”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were at the Golden Corral and when we went to the Salad Bar we saw a roach running between the salad fixings. We told a waitress that was close by sweeping the floor. She went to the bar and crushed the roach with her towel and then went right back to sweeping. She did not disinfect the spot or anything. We asked to see a manager and this lady came to us and said she was the manager. We told her what happened and she just said "Oh that is okay we have an exterminator coming to spray". Never offered a refund or said she was sorry or anything. We left without eating anything. This was a horrible response from the waitress AND a manager of a supposedly clean food establishment. We used to eat a lot at the Golden Corral, but will avoid it like the plague now.

Dave and Beth Seat

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeMouseMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Now I know why the call it a Corral”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We tried it as we have heard of it, but don't have any in our area. The large posted prices did not match the dinner price charged. They were out of ice at the registers where the sodas are distributed, so we had to chase down a server to get drinks.

They were out of forks for the majority of our meal which made eating things a bit rustic.

As for the food: the fried chicken and cotton candy were very good. The steak was good. The side dishes were okay but not as tastey as expected. The salad bar had six toppings only and as many dressings.

The cleanliness was questionable, as there was food everywhere, but the staff was very friendly.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlFromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing