We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese Food”

Yokohama Japanese Grill
Ranked #43 of 149 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Food”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I have been past this restaurant many times and finally decided to stop. There were few cars in the parking lot and few patrons inside so we were not optimistic. What a surprise, the service was great, quick, polite and caring, the food was well prepared and very good. I had the Udon noodles with shrimp and my wife had the Chicken Teriyaki, both were prepared well and delicious. We will stop again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TNOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
171 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good food, affordable”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have eaten at Yokohama many times but I have never written a review. Yokohama features many traditional Japanese steakhouse favorites without the exorbitant prices. The service is very attentive as the owners are always there and they run a smooth operation.

I have probably tried 10 different menu items and they have always been quite good. The Teryiaki steak and shrimp is flavorful and savory. While noparticularlyry overloaded with steak, the accompanying vegetables are crisp and fresh tasting. The tempura is also very good with crispy panko breadcrumbs but the accompanying sauce is not very good and has a flavor I'm not familiar with for tempura. I've eaten tempura in Asia and usually the Tempura sauce is very flavorful; not so much here.

Chinesenese dumplings are very good served with a traditional sesame oil sauce. I've also had the egg rolls and have enjoyed them immensely. Fried rice is typiJapaneseanse steak house style and is very good.

The overall level of service is excellent and attentive. The foconsistentlytently appetizing and the prices are affordable. The only reason I wouldn't give 5 stars is because the portion sizes are a bit on the small size, but certainly enough for most. Also, the restaurant is housed in a former Hardee's restaurant so the atmosphere is nothing special. Other than that, I really enjoy Yokohama.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dspindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great alternative to fast food”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

It's fairly basic hibachi fair, but the quality is consistent, the staff is incredibly friendly, and the prices can't be beat. They even have a drive through. When we just want to pick up something quick on the way home from work, this is it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RideDirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great polace to eat”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Yokohama's is a great place to eat. We eat lunch there regularly and are never disappointed. The place is clean and neat, and the service is always good. The food is always fresh, and almost as good as the higher priced hibachi style places, but at a much lower price. Great bargain for this type of food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingpin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yokohama Japanese Grill also viewed

Hendersonville, Sumner County
Hendersonville, Sumner County
 
Hendersonville, Sumner County
 
Hendersonville, Sumner County
Hendersonville, Sumner County
 

Been to Yokohama Japanese Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing