We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Smoky Mountain Outdoors tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Smoky Mountain Outdoors
from $40.36
More Info
from $32.68
More Info
Reviews (4,707)
Filter reviews
4,705 results
Traveler rating
4,404
233
36
15
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4,404
233
36
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white water rafting the river rafting trip great guide smoky mountain a great experience great job a lot of fun upper pigeon class rapids made us feel whole family raft guide first timers year old son super fun next year
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,705 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Was looking for something out of the ordinary (for me) during a get-away to the mountains. This was a good balance of not too exciting but also, not too boring. Had a great guide. This would be a good trip for amateur rafters.

Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olwen C, Public Relations Manager at Smoky Mountain Outdoors, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, Kim. We are so glad you enjoyed your rafting trip with us!

Water levels differ between the summer and fall seasons. During the summer season, you can count on Class III and IV rapids, exciting enough for rafters with experience and thrilling as a first-time experience.

During the Fall season, water levels are unpredictable and every day is different on the river. Rapids vary from mild to wild, and the scenery is always works-class.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers, and come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Me and my family had an amazing time rafting with SMO! My parents are not adventurous, but this was the perfect trip for them! The tour ran on time, and our guide was excellent. I'd definitely go back if we're in the area!

Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olwen C, Public Relations Manager at Smoky Mountain Outdoors, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, Rachel. Thank you for sharing your SMO experience on Trip Advisor. We are all about taking care of our guests - we’re so glad you enjoyed the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We had
"rev" Dean as our guide. He was very knowledgable about the area, history, and nature of the area. He has been in this business for some time, and was fun to have as a guide. The river was not too wild, but our guide made sure that we had fun. If you want constant danger and wild rapids, then the Ocoee is what you want. This trip was some work, but mostly a pleasant ride down the river. Good for all ages.

Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olwen C, Public Relations Manager at Smoky Mountain Outdoors, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Hi, Ann. We're so glad you got out on the water with us this fall! Rev. Dean is one of our best, and we've no doubt you had a good time with him.

We hope you have a chance to come back and raft with us during our guaranteed water release season. As I'm sure you were aware, river trips after Labor Day are subject to natural flow, meaning that our friends at the hydroelectric power plant don't publish a water release schedule, so we never know how much water we'll have. That said, any day on the river is a good day!

From Memorial Day through Labor Day, the power plant does release water on a regular schedule, and you can be assured of a thrilling Class III and IV whitewater trip. Come back and see us! #GoWithSMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

What would have been a fantastic, turned out to be a near death experience. Whatever you do don't let your guide take you on unnecessary risks such as SURFING. This is a dangerous stunt that almost killed my wife. Our guide deliberately put the nose of our raft into the rushing falls of a huge dip in the river, causing 4 out of 5 passengers to be thrown from the boat. My wife is in her sixties and not in the best physical condition. She went down underwater for several minutes and when she came up she was trapped under the raft. Thank got we finally got a hold of her life jacket and after several attempts were able to pull her back in the raft. She couldn't breath and was scared to death. Please urge your guides to not do anything as stupid as our did. White rafting is exciting enough, without the one who is suppose to ensure your safety, deliberately putting you in harm's way.
Be careful and have fun!

3  Thank pauldQ8747TE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Smoky Mountain Outdoors, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Paul,
Thank you for your feedback—It is helpful to hear from our guests, especially when you are not completely satisfied with your experience. Everyone at Smoky Mountain Outdoors works very hard to make your rafting adventure the best part of your vacation, and I am so sorry that we fell short. Having had my share of swims, a few of which involved bumping up against the underside of the raft, I sympathize with your wife's experience.. It is one of the scenarios we cover during our extensive pre-trip talk for this very reason.. I am so sorry that your trip was not what you expected, and I will share your comments with our entire team as we continue to strive toward providing a first-class rafting adventure for every guest. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you a better whitewater experience. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss this matter further, and thank you again for bring your experience to my attention.

Sincerely,

Susan Spivey
Outpost Manager
Smoky Mountain Outdoors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

This is a major reason to be in Tennessee. Zip lines, miniature golf, go-karts, and stuff like that can be found anywhere and has nothing to do with seeing outdoors for real. The guides are all experts and only care about the people they guide. Personality must be a prerequisite for employment. They know every rock and drop in a very busy river and make it total fun even for this 71 yr old. If you can only do one thing make it this trip with Smoky Moutaian Outdoors.

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olwen C, Public Relations Manager at Smoky Mountain Outdoors, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Hi, Paul.

We love your review, and agree whole-heartedly that rafting with Smoky Mountain Outdoors is a truly authentic Smoky Mountain experience. Our guides are passionate about the river, and love sharing their passion with new friends. Thank you for taking the time to share your story, and come back and see us again! #GoWithSMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

I have used these guys four times and have watched them grow over the years. From the first time to the most recent, their customer service has not gone down but only become better each time. I won't use any other outfitter for my whitewater rafting needs when I go to the Smokies. These guys rock and their guides are awesome!

Thank bwatt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olwen C, Public Relations Manager at Smoky Mountain Outdoors, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

We truly value our repeat visitors, and appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with us. We'll see you next time you're in our area! #GoWithSMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Can’t say enough about Smoky Mountain Outdoors river trip. It was a blast! The trip was well organized and the “ The Rev” Dean, our guide was experienced and knowledgeable. He explained what we were going to experience and went through thoroughly, all safety rules and guidelines. It was a beautiful scenic day with fun and entertaining stories from “The Rev”.
Highly recommend!
Thanks Smoky Mountain Rafting!

Thank kapasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Smoky Mountain Outdoors, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Glad you had a great time on the river with Reverend Dean, The Dunkin' Machine! He is one of our most requested guides, and definitely has years of experience guiding on a variety of rivers. Please feel free to request him on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Went with 5 adults! Loved that our group got our own guide. Darell was amazing! We got soaking wet and had a ton of fun. One of our group fell in twice but that was half the fun!

Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olwen C, Public Relations Manager at Smoky Mountain Outdoors, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Welcome to the Pigeon River Swim Team! We agree that Darell is amazing - and will tell him you said so. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts - and come back and see us again! #GoWithSMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

White water rafting with Smoky Mountain Outdoors was awesome. Dean was the best guide. It was oir first rafting trip and he was very experienced!!!! Highly recommend this adventure!!

Thank Discover427787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoustonN4, Manager at Smoky Mountain Outdoors, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Smoky Mountain Outdoors and of course, you guide Dean.
We are thrilled you guys had a great time on the water and I will be passing along your kind words to him.
We hope to see you next time you are in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Randy was our guide and he was phenomenal. He was experienced, funny, friendly, knowledgeable and made the trip better! The check in process was a breeze, except having to be there 45 minutes ahead was a longer wait than we would have liked. We highly recommend this company.

Thank has34209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Smoky Mountain Outdoors, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you for the great comments about your guide Randy. He is is one of trip leaders, a lead trainer, assistant river manager, and an all-around handy guy to have around for a great smile and a helping hand. I apologize that the 45 minute arrival time seemed long, and I will share your comments with our entire management team. Thank you again, and I hope we see you again for your next adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews