We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful.”
Review of Star Cafe - CLOSED

Star Cafe
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Awful.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Read reviews. Very disappointed. Place not very clean. They have a simple menu, but were out of items. Did not mind substituting. However fried chicken was not freshly made. Mashed potato and gravy not even warm. Soda even had funy taste and was served in a cracked plastic glass. Waitress was good, but the food not so much. Place has character.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Meat & 3”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I've been eating at the Star for years...always consistently good food, prices, and service. The fried chicken is often the star of the menu here, though the baked ham is another favorite. Really I have not had a bad meal here. Usually we go there for lunch or supper, but their breakfast is great too. They've been in business here for about 8-10 years so they have shown they have staying power.

I do notice, however, that sometimes the tables need cleaning, especially when it is busy. If you have little ones, be sure to bring something to cover the seats. Not saying it's nasty...far from it...just that I don't think they have the staff to adequately clean the tables sometimes.

One of the best meat and 3s in Goodlettsville...which is saying a lot.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lukabrasi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a cool place”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

First off, their fried chicken tastes exactly like my grandmother used to make. This is a big compliment! All of their food is great if you like southern fare. The restaurant is in a small older home and has a really cool feel to it.

Helpful?
Thank goodmanonradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good, old fashioned "meat 'n three" restaurant”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great find here - authentic, Nashville-style restaurant. Down home, "meat 'n three" food is served here. Fried chicken, meat loaf, fried catfish, and ham - along with sides of turnip greens, mac & cheese (in the south, this is a vegetable!), corn, green beans, etc. Served with homemade cornbread or biscuits.
Delicious, unprentitious food. Plenty of it, too!
The place is small with mismatched tables and chairs -- all very typical.
Come for the chow - you will like it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashvillecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“1 visit was enough”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We walked in and had trouble finding a clean table. Apparently, the bus boy was on a break. Waitress was nice and efficient. Chicken was acutally very good, but thats where the positive ends. My son will eat anything and he barely touched his food. Not sure what the problem was but I will not be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank I_Will_Rate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Cafe also viewed

Goodlettsville, Davidson County
Goodlettsville, Davidson County
 
Goodlettsville, Davidson County
Goodlettsville, Davidson County
 
Goodlettsville, Davidson County
Goodlettsville, Davidson County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing