We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No thank you” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Nashville North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnuson Hotel Nashville North
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No thank you”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were suggested to stay here by a lady at one of the Welcome Centers. She showed us a a brochure from the hotel which stated the hotel was NEW! The hotel rooms have been redone and at first glance look ok....but...they are dirty. the front desk person said the rooms were redone 3. 1/2 years ago, but the hotel itself is very old and run down.

We were so tired when we checked in I just fell into bed but when I woke I noticed a sunflower seed on the bathroom floor and a bobby pin on the carpet. The carpet was relatively new but was laid over an uneven floor and it felt like walking on chipped concrete.

The breakfast room was dirty. Even the plastic containers holding the dry cereal was dirty. My husband poured a cup of coffee and ended up throwing it out.

I did not feel safe to walk out to my car at night alone nor even just out of my room.

The price was certainly good but not good enough to ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    9
    11
    35
See reviews for
29
20
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Clean and hot water!

The carpet is a bit old and the building diesn't look like much but the cleanliness, the nice bedding and the renovated bathrooms are really nice. In fact they are similar to hotels that charge twice as much.

The free wifi has a strong signal, which is an absolute for me.

I also stayed across the road at the America's Best that is next to Hooters on a previous trip and it was awful - dirty, no hot water in the shower and reeked of the fried food from the restaurant.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor and it had a water fountain outside that was a good ambient sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have stayed in many Baymont Inns, always with a good experience.
Not this time!
We had a no cancellation clause for 4 nights, and it was not worth the $$ we saved.
When we opened the door to the assigned room it smelled so bad that we asked for another room.
A baseball team had checked in ahead of us and they were loudly enjoying beers in the courtyard, outside of our door. The desk clerk promised to speak to them. Slightly less noise continued for about another hour. Bedding packed around the door could not stop all the noise, as you could see light in cracks all around the door.
As each of us stepped into the shower the next morning we noticed black footprints in the tub, and realized it was dirt we had picked up off the carpet. I kept a towel beside the bed to wipe my feet on.
The "extended continental breakfast" was in a very dumpy room, with very, very dirty carpet. Apparently there was no attendant, and a guest ahead of us was kicking trash on the floor to one side.
With another hour remaining for breakfast there was hardly any food out. Rolls were dry and stuck together, and apples looked as if they had been there for weeks.
We did find yogurt in the fridge.
We could not understand the A/C system. It seemed to blow stinky water into the room with the cold air. A couple of times we turned on the heat to try to dry out the room!
The bottom sheet is small and flat, and so it never stays tucked in. The thick mattress pad is so fluffy one feels as if you are sleeping in a marshmallow.
My husband left a bag of persrcriptions in the bathroom, and we had to call twice before they sent them. We paid for the postage, but the meds he needed the most had been removed from the bottle. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Goodlettsville hotels

Kirksey, KY
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Why do I think the staff is logging in and reviewing this place with a good review about once a month? Maybe because I can't really believe anyone would give it a good one.

We stayed here for two nights. The ONLY reason we didn't leave immediately was that we had a Groupon and it was already paid for. It was BARELY tolerable. The dresser was actually completely missing one of the drawers. No one had moved, vacumned or cleaned behind anything in who knows when. The bed was lumpy. It was supposed to be non-smoking, but.... Our room smelled of smoke. There were buckets placed every couple of rooms on the landings for all of the cigarette butts. The courtyard was unusable and the "fountain" was empty. They taunted us with signs for free cookies, which never existed. The breakfast room was a dingy small guest room. The room had apparently been "redecorated" fairly recently. The only problem was - they didn't do a very good job and the drywall tape was literally pealing off the wall in several places. The carpet and walls were stained. We forgot to put out our "do not disturb" sign so they knocked on our door and insisted that we pass them all of our wet towels since we weren't ready to get out and let them clean. The remote for the tv wouldn't turn the power on or off.

On the good side - the kid who checked us in was nice once she finally got off the phone. The bathroom was clean. The towels were good. There were plenty of pillows. The TV was good. Once we got logged in the Internet worked fairly well.

Needless to say, we will NOT be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank West-Ky-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

There were small flies and bugs in the room. The door locks did not make me feel safe. The window and window sill were filthy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet-text
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed here because Groupon had a deal for the hotel. The first thing I noticed was the area the hotel was located, not very desirable. The hotel itself is rundown and out of date. The courtyard area is disgusting. The breakfast area was nasty...fruit flys everywhere! I was scared to touch or eat anything, needless to say we went down the road to the Cracker Barrel. When we walked in the room it was muggy and smelly. There were black hairs all over the bedding. There were fruit flys in the room as well. The bathroom was nasty with black hairs all over the floor. By far the worst hotel Ive ever been to. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone regardless of how good a deal it is!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c0pgrl736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

The wall paper was peeling off the wall. The bathtub was dirty. The sheets were so thin and worn out. The carpet was old and stained. The courtyard area hasn't been cleaned or updated in a long time. The breakfast was served in what used to be a hotel room which was small and cramped. Had I not arrived so late at night, I would have never stayed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSmith315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goodlettsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Goodlettsville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Goodlettsville
Comfort Suites Goodlettsville
#7 of 17 in Goodlettsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Goodlettsville - Nashville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Goodlettsville
1.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Nashville North
Red Roof PLUS+ Nashville North
#4 of 17 in Goodlettsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Goodlettsville
Quality Inn Goodlettsville
#5 of 17 in Goodlettsville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Nashville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Nashville North

Property: Magnuson Hotel Nashville North
Address: 809 Wren Rd, Goodlettsville, TN 37072-2316 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Goodlettsville)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sumner County > Goodlettsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Goodlettsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Nashville North 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the street from the Rivergate Mall, The Magnuson Hotel Nashville North is minutes from Nashville, the Grand Ole Opry, Country Music Hall of Fame, the Nashville Convention Center, Tennessee Convention Center, and Vanderbilt University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Nashville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Goodlettsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing