We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Germantown Commissary
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Germantown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
calif
Level Contributor
222 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were referred to this restaurant by several locals. Went there on a Friday at 5:30 to avoid the rush. Good thing because by the time we left there were lots of people jammed in the entrance waiting for a table.

I had the 2 meat combo - chicken and ribs. They were flavorful and moist. Beans were the best I've ever had -not too sweet and flavored with bits of meat. Cole slaw was very good and the deviled egg topping the slaw was good as well. Portions are very generous. Took a piece of the coconut cake and carmel cake back to the hotel and oh boy, were they ever good!

Service with excellent and I loved the cozy country atmosphere.I will remember this restaurant for a long time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigpenny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    253
    83
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a favorite of locals who know their Southern cooking. Ribs are a specialty and some of the best we've enjoyed. Two sides with more ribs than you may be able to down, offered at surprisingly good prices, makes the Commissary very popular. The place gets packed, so get there early to avoid a line.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talihina
Level Contributor
327 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A must for travelers who like to experience local flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Small building tightly seated guest but no one complained. Staff was likable and attentive. The appetizer was nacho's and were great. Had the 1/2 rack ribs and side if beans and cole slaw with a deviled egg that was almost as good as my wife's. Nice flavor on the sauce, give it a try if your in the area.

Helpful?
Thank 182p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park, MI
Level Contributor
274 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“good spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very busy arrived at 2:00 in the after noon and had to wait for a table. Based on reviews I expected more… while it was very good it wasn't "the best" I have ever had. Also was very surprised they did not serve brisket.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We tried as many BBQ places as we could while in Memphis, and this was by far the best! Staff was friendly, food was served quickly. Enjoyed the pulled shoulder and the coconut pie.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Germantown Commissary also viewed

 

Been to Germantown Commissary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing