We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save room for dessert”

Germantown Commissary
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Germantown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
lansing mi
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Two words: Coconut pie. This is a MUST try if you're anywhere near Germantown. That said, the place gets jam packed and parking is tight so you might have to walk a little. I grabbed my pie to go - they do a great job moving the take-out line quickly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank daphne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    270
    90
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pig for the Piggy”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Commissary. We usually stay in Memphis on the second leg of our journey. This time we actually picked a hotel in Germantown near the Commissary so that we could arrive early for lunch (11:00). I must admit that I am not big on BBQ but the ribs that I have had on previous visits were delicious. I ordered Hot Tamales (2) with chili and cheese so I would have room for the absolutely DIVINE Lemon Ice Box Pie. The tamales were very tasty, and I would order them again. Perhaps next time I will try the Pig Sticks.

My husband had the Two Meat Combo of pulled pork shoulder and ribs with cole slaw, beans, deviled egg and roll. It was a large portion! The BBQ was savory, especially the pulled pork ( his favorite). He had to get his Lemon Ice Box Pie to go!

Helpful?
Thank WitchyMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

While the Commissary is a bit of a drive from Memphis, it is well worth the trip. My daughters and I devoured the tamale appetizer. The pulled pork was outstanding and plentiful. I originally planned to take some home however my taste buds thought different. Just when I thought I was full I happened to see a slice of coconut cake passing by and I had to try it. It was so good that I might start out my meal with it next time. My daughter's split a banana pudding and it was delicious as well. I actually put a countdown timer on my phone of my next trip to Memphis with a picture of the Commissary. I can't wait!

Helpful?
Thank ty3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous BBQ”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The barbeque sandwich at the Commissary is the best I have ever eaten. Maybe I was hungary, but the sandwich was fabulous. I had slaw on the sandwich too. This place gets busy, so be prepared to wait at lunch time or just come a little later. You can eat at a table or just get takeout and enjoy it in your car. If the parking lot is full, you can park across the street at the church.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob-WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always our first choice”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This secret gem doesn't get much publicity, which is probably a good thing because the dining room is pretty small. Great atmosphere as the place actually used to be a commissary. We frequently get carry out. Sometimes the ribs can be a little dry, but always tasty, and their sauces are top-notch which makes up for this small fault. The only cake I've tried is the caramel cake. It also was a little dry, but the frosting was out of this world. Definitely worth a trip off the beaten path.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claireb0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Germantown Commissary also viewed

 

Been to Germantown Commissary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing