We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you hungry?”

Germantown Commissary
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Germantown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Bogart, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Are you hungry?”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My son and daughter in law brought us to Commissary one Sunday after church on one of our visits. Well this weekend while here for the birth of their first child....We introduced the rest of the family to this unique delight. The servers were personable and the portions were LARGE. Four of us had BBQ plates and 1 a pulled Smoked Turkey Sandwich meal. Every meal is served with a deviled egg and the slaw with a banana pepper. Beans and stew were both great but they are known for their POTATO SALAD....try some. it is so good that we took a plate back to the hospital for the new mom and dad. Sweet iced tea is a southern "must have" --and coming in a black plastic cup you now have a to go cup to take home! Our family will return to Georgia with theirs...We were 2 blocks from the Methodist Hospital in Germantown--so it was perfect! You cannot go wrong...It's unique look is awesome and the servers were absolutely the best.....they were interested in where we were from and out new granddaughter!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MathTeacherVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    270
    90
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Affordable Option for Good Barbecue”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was introduced to the Commissary when a relative suggested it for lunch one afternoon. Arriving at the restaurant, I was unsure what to expect. Located in the Germantown suburb of Memphis, the small restaurant is consistently crowded. The menu, while not extensive, is varied, with everything from traditional pork sandwiches to southern-style desserts. The staff is attentive and the prices are affordable. I would certainly recommend the Commissary to anyone looking for fast, affordable barbecue in Memphis.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JourneyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in memphis”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Hands down best BBQ from Memphis to st Louis. Atmosphere feels like real BBQ joint. The best pulled pork sandwich by far. If u like dessert get the banana pudding the only downside is you will have to tell your mom now hers is not your favorite anymore.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Pig”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ate at the Commissary in Germantown recently and found it to have some of the best pig I ever eaten. Moist, good smoke coloring and a wonderful spicy sauce. In a part of the country known for its barbecue I found that the Commissary stood out as one of the best.The atmosphere of the building is pretty unique as well. I can recommend this establishment without reservation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickninty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, TN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ribs by far”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

When it comes to Memphis ribs, everyone has a personal favorite ... Gtown Commisary is mine. They're consistently tender and flavorful. One measure of a good rib is how the meat comes off of the bone. These always come clean. Try a slab of ribs and you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Germantown Commissary also viewed

 

Been to Germantown Commissary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing