We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but poor staff experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Germantown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place Germantown
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Germantown
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel but poor staff experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We enjoy Hyatt place - the rooms are great, the price is good, the rooms are clean.

However, we had bad luck with this particular staff and a couple of things that were not the hotels fault.

- extremely loud group outside our door at 3am waking up our sleeping baby.

- someone smoking in a bathroom in another room making our bathroom and bedroom stink like smoke so my 5 year old was coughing all night.

- The staff was more interested in flirting and staring at girls in short dresses than in helping other customers

- Staff was absent and left us waiting while they chatted and flirted with young ladies

- staff was unable to talk in full sentences or make any eye contact while talking.

- my husband and I felt like we were 'pests' for merely wanting to do things like check in and check out.

We will most likely not stay at this location again and stay at the wolfchase / galleria Hyatt Place where the staff were incrediably friendly and we had a wonderful experience the week before.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    118
    31
    9
    11
See reviews for
142
50
20
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a really great hotel. I found the hotel to be very spacious, modern, and LOVED the television! The rooms were clean, and I found the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants and places to shop. I would highly recommend this hotel, and look forward staying here in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieKat0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Recently stayed for several nights at the Hyatt Place-Germantown, on business in Memphis. The hotel more than met all expectations: clean, quiet, tasty breakfast, very friendly staff, and a great price thanks to HotWire. Was a bit crazy early Saturday morning - lots of families with soccer playing children, but everyone was having a great time. The hotel is convenient to major highways and only 25-30' to the heart of the city. Lots of shopping and restaurants close by. Will stay here again! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room on back of the hotel - very quiet and larger than standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzerMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We just finished a great family stay at the Hyatt (2 adults, 2 childern under 10). Check in was a breeze, and the hotel staff were all very pleasant. We didnt get to use the pool but it was still spotless along with the rest of the hotel. The lobby is very modern and the hotel has free wireless which is a nice feature.

The included "skillet" breakfast was fantastic with a rotating selection, it was almost as good as some of the B&B I've stayed at and is definitely a cut above the typical continenty breakfast. Checkout concluded with a handshake, which was right in line with the great service and attitudes of employees we experienced all week. You really can't beat the bang for your buck in the Germantown area.

The only "negative" is that it is about a 10 minute drive to the downtown Germantown area and roughtly 30 minutes to Memphis for restarants/activities/nightlife, but we preferred a quiet safe location so this locale was perfect for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevd193213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

What can you say when everything was just great? I can only think of 1 thing, Thank you for making my stay enjoyable! A+++. My wife is one of those people that tip toes in a room like she is sneaking up on a critter looking for stuff, and you made her happy, so any of you that know how that is will appreciate the effort Hyatt place does to make things right.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrowd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great hotel for work travel. Hotel still looks very new with very nice large rooms. The breakfast bar is way above average and the staff is friendly. Easy access from Memphis and the airport. Front desk bar also a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Joaquin Valley California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is out by itself in an open grassy area near neighborhoods. It is a drive to food and drink. They have a great free breakfast available and also have a small bar on site though drinks are pretty pricey. About 30-45 minutes from airport depending on traffic. Pretty safe area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MIZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germantown
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Germantown
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Memphis Germantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#24 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
6.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
17.9 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Germantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Germantown

Property: Hyatt Place Germantown
Address: 9161 Winchester Road, Germantown, TN 38138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Germantown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Germantown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Germantown
#3 Family Hotel in Germantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Germantown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Germantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Germantown Hotel Germantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing