We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Germantown
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Germantown
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Staying here was the best decision we made while driving/moving cross country. The hotel is immaculate, cleanest I've seen in a long time. Showers are amazing, bed incredibly comfortable, and such a quiet night. However, the absolute best part was the service and warm welcome we received. Paris and Kiosha ( please forgive me if that is not her name) were nice file and everyone we encountered were so helpful to not only us but our dogs we are traveling with. I highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFowler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    122
    36
    10
    11
See reviews for
158
54
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The appearance of the hotel itself was nice, however the individual room had malodorous musty smell which intensified after the use of our heater on the first night. Since we were only staying there two nights and was only in our room to sleep, it would have been too much of a hassle to complain and try to get another room since we'd already unpacked that first evening. Also, when I reached for a clean towel to dry off in the shower, I realized that two of the towels were dirty and had been used. One towel had old soap stuck to it and was rough where the soap and water had dried. The second towel I reached for had the stench of old coffee. My husband called in to complain and get new towels sent up to the room. However after 30 mins the front desk called and asked if we could pick up the clean towels, which meant that my husband who was already in the shower had to use my already wet towel. Also the food choices for breakfast can be a lot healthier since the only breakfast sandwich contained pork. The only other hot menu items were pancakes (or waffles depending on the day) or watery looking oatmeal. They also served canned fruit which my children wouldn't eat after tasting because "It did't taste like real fruit". It was a nice hotel with friendly staff, however considering that there are other options in memphis for a little more money, we most likely won't be returning.

Room Tip: Watch out for their modern showers, they get water all over the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
594 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Germantown is a lovely area of Memphis, and this hotel is conveniently located. We were attending a football game in Oxford, so the location was great. The shower is outstanding (walk-in with rainfall showerhead). The only problem we encountered was an overly crowded breakfast area, but that was just bad timing on our part.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suburban-countess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stay at the Hyatt Place often when I'm in Memphis on business. The hotel is great value for a suites facility, staff are always friendly, rooms are clean and spacious, free WIFI, free light breakfast, free shuttle service to nearby restaurants.

All of the ingredient to a comfortable stay in a hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffreybrookfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This property is well situated, set well back from the main Winchester Road running through the nice Memphis district of Germantown (20 minutes from downtown Memphis).
The building is clean, modern and good sized rooms.
Restaurant/cafe is a little basic but the staff were excellent and keen to please.
Excellent for a short stop/ business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ameglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
596 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What an oasis! This was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in at this price. In fact, at twice the price it would have been a great find.

I had a photo assignment in the Germantown area near Memphis and this hotel was recommended to me by the client. I stayed there three nights and I wish I could have had three weeks there. I arrived an hour before check-in and I waited in the very cool, very chic lobby for about an hour until a room was ready for me. All of the folks at the front desk (and, everyone working there) were so nice. I haven't stayed at a Hyatt Place before so I didn't know they had such a great food selection. I knew that the HGI (Hilton Garden Inn) and Marriott hotels had good food but this hotel really surprised me with both its selection and the great prices on their menu. I had a BBQ chicken flatbread pizza and a Caesar salad on two of the evenings and they were both outstanding. At least as good as you'd find in a restaurant and probably even more reasonably priced. The breakfast was over the top outstanding, as well. I can't think of a more broad selection of quality food than they had here. Their "signature" breakfast sandwich was to die for and they usually had at least three different varieties of specialty egg dishes / sandwiches. And, I mean gourmet quality stuff here, not a microwaved thing out of a plastic wrapper. They had two kinds of excellent, fresh yogurt and every topping you can imagine, plus great, real oatmeal, fresh fruit, all kinds of fresh juices and milks and Starbucks coffee and a great assortment of teas. I literally could have stayed there for an hour trying everything. It was outstanding.

My room was amazing and as well laid out as any room that I've ever had in a hotel. The bathroom area had an amazing stand-up shower and a toilet in a separate room and a very cool sink and vanity outside in its own area. Very convenient. The mini-fridge was super handy and the wireless internet was lightning quick and never cut out. The HUGE flat screen TV was on a pivot mount so it could be turned towards the supremely comfortable bed or the desk area; a very cool and handy idea. The doors really slammed shut which is always annoying to me, but more often than not that's the way all hotels are, unfortunately.

The exercise room was one of the best I've seen with all sorts of treadmills and other machines and even free weights. The pool was outside and it looked great, but I didn't use it at all. It was 97 degrees and humid every day that I was there so I should have taken the time to use it.

I can't think of a thing I would change about this hotel, and that's pretty rare. I have to start looking for other Hyatt Place locations on my travels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff were very friendly and when they didn't have a room with two queens they upgraded us to two adjoining rooms before we arrived. The facility and rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was very good. And the breakfast area was kept spotless and tables bused quickly. Only two negatives are the pool and the food setup. The pool is too small for the size of hotel and it sits right next to the parking lot. No real privacy of any kind. The other issue is the food service. They don't have room service as such. There is a menu that you can order from, but you then have to go down to the front desk to get your food. The hotel was completely booked with a bunch of kids sports teams and the hotel has very strict rules regarding quiet hours. They did a very good job of enforcing these rules and the hotel was quiet during the posted hours. The only other minor point is that there were a number of time where I called the front desk and nobody answered. Overall a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if there will be sports teams during your stay and then ask for a room at the end of the furthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falconfixer86261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germantown
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Germantown
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Memphis Germantown
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Germantown
7.5 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#23 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Germantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Germantown

Property: Hyatt Place Germantown
Address: 9161 Winchester Rd, Germantown, TN 38138-8509
Location: United States > Tennessee > Germantown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Germantown
#3 Family Hotel in Germantown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Germantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Germantown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Place Germantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Germantown Hotel Germantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing