We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poisoning anyone!!!”
Review of Shoney's

Shoney's
Ranked #274 of 372 Restaurants in Franklin
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food poisoning anyone!!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the only place in five days my husband and I didn't eat the same items, and I got food poisoning!!! We went on a Sunday as a hungry-and-need-something-now visit. Since not being from the area, we weren't sure if we'd find the restaurant we would have rather had that serves country breakfasts with a store inside (unfortunately for me, there was one on the other side of the highway).
I had the breakfast buffet, my husband had pancakes. There was one item at the buffet I wouldn't even try because I couldn't identify what it was. Therefore, I chose the basics; scrambled eggs, french toast, sausage, cinnamon toast sticks, grits and bread-pudding (I think?). If it was bread pudding, it wasn't cooked!!!! It came right out of the fridge and was put on the steamer. I took two bites (because I wasn't sure) and was done.....literally!! 14 hours later I was in the hotel room sicker than a dog.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“National chain with a home town flavor”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We actually went to Shoney's because everywhere else was closed. It was a pleasant surprise. The buffet was outstanding and they allowed our large group to use a private back room (without prior notice). The employees are very warm and attentive. Raymond took care of us and he not only served us well, but too extra time joking with the children. It was so good we returned the next morning for their breakfast buffet. The food was great, bathrooms clean and fresh smelling, and people great!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alger, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Very Good!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Food was served timely and very good! Would go there again! Service was very friendly and restraunt was clean.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anniezway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Wayne.IN
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Evening Dinner”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had the Sunday Buffet and the food was very good and hot. Wait staff was attentive but not overly(I hate that so)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank incruiser26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Shoney's Franklin, TN”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were seated by a very friendly person and our server was very friendly and handled out order very well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

 

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing